AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 34 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2005, 04:32 AM   #331 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670

has anyone seen Intel's 600 series CPU's?
they've made 2 new EE's, one is at 3.73GHZ. I laughed when I saw the benchmarks though, they got outperformed by the previous 3.4 EE's and sometimes by the 3.2 non-EE
i sorta feel sorry for the people who get sucked in and buy the 3.73EE because that would be one damn expensive CPU. and the reason that intel will sell that 3.73EE as well as any other? because they are marketing whores, and people dont pay attention to benchmarks, or they dont care to see them.

<img src=\"\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:13 PM   #332 (permalink)
I Rule You
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory

Most people don't understand the meaning of benchmarks. Of course, those people are the ones who don't need the benchmarks, or performance... they just need it to work.

Which is what pentium does. ^_^

Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 01:41 AM   #333 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151

Originally posted by FadingTheory
Most people don't understand the meaning of benchmarks. Of course, those people are the ones who don't need the benchmarks, or performance... they just need it to work.

Which is what pentium does. ^_^
Which is also what an AMD does.

Which is also what a Cyrix does.

Which is also what a SUN chip does.

Need I go on ?

Intel are not the be all and end all of the computer processing industry, just like Microsoft are not the be all and end all of Operating Systems.

Alot of it is to do with marketing and the fact people feel safer investing their hard earned cash in the reputable brands.

I`m sure if companies such as AMD, Cyrix, SUN and Linux started marketing themseleves more and had their products put into PC bundles like Intel and MS do, then the regular user PC marekt would become less concentrated.
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:44 AM   #334 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:34 PM   #335 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019

my friend built a new system about a week ago:
3200+ 939
asus kv8 or something?
512mb pc3200

he brought it over to my place, powers it up.. turns on nice n fast, as ud expect and we started playin games and was all good...
then he decides to run a norton scan.. coz he just did a liveupdate and is really worried about gettin viruses etc... and so he runs it and i was thinkin hey its a 3200+ so come play CS at the same time, he clicks on CS and without exaggeration, 30 seconds later CS opens up and when he tried to join my game it took about 30seconds again... when it usually takes me n him about 2 or 3 seconds..
I don't know if this is normal, but i was under the impression that a 3200+ would be able to handle a virus scan and CS at the same time with relative ease, maybe it was his ram... dont get me wrong im not tryin to imply amd's suck lol, i think i've done enough of that. But yeah, I know they don't have HT like mine but I really thought it would handle 2 programs at the same time?
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:43 PM   #336 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635

You're right. They have hyper transport.. its better. The reason is because he only had 512mb of ram, dual channel doesnt work unless he has 2 chips (i guess he could've had 2x256). I don't really see anyone able to play much of anything when you have a program that is made to pretty much max your cpu/hd throughput/ram by scanning files for virii. I can play swg @ 1600x1200x32bpp, listen to music, watch multiple movies, have a couple firefox sessions up, and my news reader going at the same time with no lag.

However i can't play when sisoft sandra 2005 is running hd benchmarks.
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 09:09 PM   #337 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433

I personally dont have a predisposition to one brand or another. I am a gamer, so AMD was the logical choice for my new comp (c my sig). Also, it prolly isnt wise to run an online game while running a virus scan...ur just opening up ur i-net connection and paving the way for more attacks.

-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 09:57 PM   #338 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019

Not an online game, it was CS 1.5.. over Gigabit LAN ..... and I can run a virus scan + play CS at the same time, because I tried... loL.. maybe it was his ram, but 512 should still kinda be up there..

oh yeah and i can run Nfsu:2 and Halo at the same time and have them instantly switch with Alt+Tab
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 01:19 AM   #339 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

my computer lags when I alt+tab from a game called Madness (which is a flash game)
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 04:31 AM   #340 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1

more information on hardware subjects and to clarify your doubts, I suggest you visit,

bye for now

hochimin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.