AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 32 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2005, 01:55 PM   #311 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89

if you want to upgrade then either get a new fx-55 and mobo, or just get a 3.6ee

jnev_89 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 04:04 PM   #312 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943

FX-55 will pawn the 3.6EE

AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:21 PM   #313 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487

Yep the FX-55 is more powerful than the 3.6 extreme. However the extreme's are good for overclocking and with some good cooling you don't have to get it up near 5 ghz for it to compete with the fx-55. About 4.3ghz or so is competitive with it, since the extremes are faster.
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 10:35 PM   #314 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

Originally posted by waynejkruse10
Yeah, i do see more Celerons than Semprons, but Semprons are basicly Athlon XP's rebadged, and Athlon XP's arnt that bad. And if some Semprons had mobile capability, they should have the wonderful overclocking ability of Mobile Athlon XP's.

the socket 754 Sempron's are exactly the same as the Athlon 64 clawhammers, except they have less cache and don't have the X86-64 register

also, I think the P4 EE's and FX-55 are just as overclockable as each other. with good cooling you can get a P4 to >4.5GHZ and an FX-55 to >3GHZ
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 12:12 AM   #315 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019

thats nearly a gb clock for the pentium and 400mhz( im pretty sure fx 55 are 2.6? )
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 10:32 AM   #316 (permalink)
I Rule You
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory

AMD MHz go farther than Pentium MHz. So thats about the same.
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 10:34 PM   #317 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17

amd are all right dude but they suck i ahve a pentium 4 3.6hgs 128mb g card 3 gig ram so u all suck
viper123456789 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 12:25 AM   #318 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019

so how much is 3.6hgs in ghz ???
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 03:42 AM   #319 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: AMD Processor vs. Pentium Processor

Pentium and AMD processors are different in architecture, which says that AMD is better than Pentium.

According to me both are similar in performance. Only sour part is that AMD processors dissipate more heat and require proper air conditioning.

Your PC configuration is perfect for the games u mentioned.

Melwyn Chettiar
Melwynchettiar is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 02:14 PM   #320 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

The newer chips from AMD and Intel, the heat dissipation is quite different. The newer Intel Chips (3.4ghz Presscott) has 115 watts of power dissipation.

The newer AMD Chips (Clawhammer FX) has 89 watts of power dissipation. And the newer 90nm AMD's have a power dissipation of 55-60 watts.

Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.