AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 31 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2005, 08:39 PM   #301 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Do what I did and build both. You won't be sorry you did. I use one for gaming and the other for a mega office computer.
__________________

Rush2 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 09:42 PM   #302 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Im trying to do that but i dont have any P4's all i have is a couple p2's and a p1. The rest is all Athlon based processors.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 12:02 AM   #303 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54
Default

yeah, doom 3 uses at most 512 MB RAM when grtaphics are set to full. If you have the 256 nVidia 6800 and the 1 gig ram, you should be set, w/o lag! I have a 5700 LE 256MB nVidia and only 512 RAM, and Doom 3 runs w small lag on high quality graphics. (and my graphic card sucks, lol)
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
nVidia 5700 LE 256 MB
512 MB Corsair XMS Series
bigdawgjts2663 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 12:26 AM   #304 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Well as everyone else has probably said it sort of depends on price. I am rather new to the building arena myself (only 2 full builds under the belt, one with each type of processor). I personally like my second computer with the P4 in it better than the AMD simply because i didn't buy the AMD 64 which i am wishing i would have. I like both AMD and the P4 so whatever is in your budget go for it.

That PC the guy quoted looks great to me i have a similar build that i just completed.
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:34 PM   #305 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

it'd be great being able to have two comps, one with amd, one with intel. actually, i'd like 4 comps: intel/nvidia (what i have now), intel/ati, amd/nvidia, amd/ati. no more flame wars over which is better!!
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 02:45 AM   #306 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

that would cost a bit, id rather just have a Athlon 64 3500+, 1gb ram, 6800gt super good system, then my current Athlon XP, 512mb Ram, 9800pro (need to upgrade) , that i can leave to download overnight, and play lan games on.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 08:15 PM   #307 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm gonna get a really good system, with an Athlon 64 3200/3500, 6800 GT, DDR500 RAM and an Abit AV8 3rd eye or DFI Lanparty (depending if I decide to get PCI-E) and then keep my current PC as a work PC. I won't need to get another monitor, because you can plug 2 computers into mine, and switch between the 2
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 12:49 AM   #308 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

my system is already g00d i dont know wat else 2 upgrade lol..
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 01:42 AM   #309 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

then just leav eit
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 11:51 AM   #310 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

but i want 2 upgrad but there is nothin left lol
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.