AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 26 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2005, 07:08 PM   #251 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Yeh i understand what your saying (this is suprising) so i thought the AMD athlon 64, because its a different and faster chip etc. it would only need a speed of 1.8ghz to be beating a 3ghz AMD athlon XP (although its a faster ghz speed the chip is naturally slower). so a low speed chip with high speed ghz could beat a very high speed ghz, but low speed chip! - i hope you understand what im saying so im just trying to compare the ghz speeds in relation to the type of chip* thanks for the help!!
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939 pin)
Asus A8V deluxe
2x 512Mb PC3200 DDR Ram (400mhz)
64mb ddr ati radeon 8500le
80gb udma HD
Maxtor1touch 160gb ExtHD 7200rpm
Plextor 8x DVD+-RW
WinXP
mbwest is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 07:13 PM   #252 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Truly, you'd need a 2.5 GHz AMD to beat a 3 GHz Pentium.



DESKTOP
AMD Athlon 64 FX
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...E10756,00.html

AMD Athlon 64
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...E10248,00.html

Sempron
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._11604,00.html

AMD Athlon XP
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._11672,00.html



LAPTOP
Mobile AMD Athlon 64
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...E11030,00.html

AMD Athlon 64 (notebook)
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...E10249,00.html

Mobile AMD Sempron
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._11613,00.html

Mobile AMD Athlon XP-M
Nothing Found.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 07:47 PM   #253 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

Go to www.tomshardware.com to see some benchmark graphs.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 11:19 PM   #254 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

the 2.6 GHZ FX55 beats the 3.46GHZ P4 EE
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 05:34 PM   #255 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xyoonboixkpx
i like pentium
I like AMD!!


Hey, answer this:

Who wants $50 free?

--if you answer yes, then you need to buy an AMD next time you get a new comp.!
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 02:56 AM   #256 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

lol, you can get a amd cpu for $50
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 07:48 AM   #257 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
lol, you can get a amd cpu for $50
not a very good one...but yah you can.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:39 PM   #258 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

a cpu is a cpu
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 05:21 PM   #259 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
a cpu is a cpu
kinda like a car is a car...but i'd take a Ferrari over a Geo Tracker, wouldn't you? Unless of course you are poor (like me) and can only afford a Geo Tracker...but i'd opt for a busted up Honda myself.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 02:33 AM   #260 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

lmao.. not the best analogy..
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.