AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 22 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2005, 09:36 PM   #211 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
I dont understand how people can bash CRT... First LCD max resolution is 1200/1200. Most LCD's have 1200/700, while most CRT have 1600/1200+. Personally i cant stand when people bash CRT, becasue they are soo much better then LCD.

If your watchong LCD from a angle, then the monitors coloring starts to get all shady. Plus CRT has alot more depth. All the shadows and glears in video games just look so much better. Again even better with that 2000/1600 resolution. While they have better quality, they still cost less. I mean why even go LCD, is size really that important? I mean what would you guys rather do. Spend 800$ on a 19inch LCD with 1200/1200 resolution, or spend 800$ on a 22inch CRT with 2000/2500 resolution?? Its pretty obvious witch is the better choice.
but i would NOT want to lug around a 22" CRT monitor...i might get a hernia lmao. some people need LCD's for that reason alone...and i mean the LCD isn't "terrible" by any means. it just lacks certain requirements/standards that you personally want. most people i know use 1024*768 max res, 65hz refresh rate lmao...they dont care about anything higher. i like the smaller screen size 100hz on my CRT.

also 1200*1200 is NOT max res for LCD monitors...i don't know what you mean. This one here can do 1600*1200....

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...116-299&DEPA=1
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 10:37 PM   #212 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

Yeah, even though I like the quality and cheapness of CRT's, I'm pretty sure my next monitor will be an LCD. Hauling my 19" CRT around to LAN parties takes a lot of energy, and I'm getting to the point where I feel like staying home from a LAN party rather than endure the pain of lifting and carrying 50 lbs all over the place. Hopefully within the next couple years, by the time I'm in need of another monitor, LCD's will compare very close to CRT's in refresh rate, resolution, etc.
__________________

__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 02:36 AM   #213 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I prefer CRT's personally, I do not think that LCD's "suck" although for gaming they are not as good as CRT's, but a descent one will do the job.

CRT's generally have a higher maximum resolution than LCD's, although I'm not saying that LCD's cannot have high resolutions

and I agree that I don't really want to be lugging around a heavy CRT all the time. I have a 21" CRT which is a really good monitor, I typically run my desktop at 2048x1536, although is friggin heavy as. I don't really want to be taking it to LAN's all the time, so I was thinking of getting a descent LCD to take to LANs and use the CRT at home where I use my PC most

also, CRT's are dangerous to repair

and VIII: your sig is far too long.. 22 lines. see the signature rules here
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 05:55 AM   #214 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
I dont understand how people can bash CRT... First LCD max resolution is 1200/1200. Most LCD's have 1200/700, while most CRT have 1600/1200+. Personally i cant stand when people bash CRT, becasue they are soo much better then LCD.

If your watchong LCD from a angle, then the monitors coloring starts to get all shady. Plus CRT has alot more depth. All the shadows and glears in video games just look so much better. Again even better with that 2000/1600 resolution. While they have better quality, they still cost less. I mean why even go LCD, is size really that important? I mean what would you guys rather do. Spend 800$ on a 19inch LCD with 1200/1200 resolution, or spend 800$ on a 22inch CRT with 2000/2500 resolution?? Its pretty obvious witch is the better choice.
comp is for one person, if other people want to watch then let them go behind or not at all.. LCDS are great against screen cheaters too

Of course LCDS arent up to the standards of CRTS, how long have CRTS been used for, umm like forever lol.. LCDS came out sometime in the last decade so in time, lcds will be just as good as crts in the refresh rates and such... the difference in those factors between CRTS and LCDS really dont alter game play too much imho..

Oh ohhh we got another AMD vs PENT going lOlZ

PS- Sorry bout my sig, ill fix it.. Just gota re download photoshop and ill sort it out
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 11:52 PM   #215 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Default

AMD kinda looses on price because i its hard to find anything that isn't a 64 bit and under 3200+ its hard to find a 3200+ in Australia now which means people who want a cheap option have to go with Pentium
__________________
Elite Bullet is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 12:24 AM   #216 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 3lite Bullet
AMD kinda looses on price because i its hard to find anything that isn't a 64 bit and under 3200+ its hard to find a 3200+ in Australia now which means people who want a cheap option have to go with Pentium
...that's because they don't make any of the XP chips anymore lol. they are still widely available, but when they are all bought out then they are gone forever. you can't really blame AMD for not holding on to older and slower technologies, they'd be losing alot of money still pumping out archaic chips to the small population of people who are not interested in there newer stuff or can't afford it. a 754 system can be had for almost the same price as a nice XP3200+ system, maybe less.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 03:15 AM   #217 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default

This thread started with AMD vs. Intel, and then went to CRT Vs. LCD? To many preference wars...let's focus on what really matters! ATI or nVidia? Lol

jk
__________________
Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 07:10 AM   #218 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 3lite Bullet
AMD kinda looses on price because i its hard to find anything that isn't a 64 bit and under 3200+ its hard to find a 3200+ in Australia now which means people who want a cheap option have to go with Pentium
that's not true, you can get athlon 64 2800+ socket 754's, and 3000+ 754 and 939's, and also Sempron 3100+'s in 754
the semprons are not 64-bit either
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 03:42 AM   #219 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yup, I think I'll hold onto my XP for years to come for nostalgia

I completely destroyed a 1GHz duron couple years back because I didn't know about computers and simply thought 'ehh its worthless'

Oh well live and learn.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 04:49 AM   #220 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Athlon 64's are not just about 64-bit processing
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.