AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2004, 01:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Basically, Pentiums give you slightly higher performance for a huge increase in price, and are known to be better with high-demand apps than AMD, whereas AMD is generally considered better for gaming.
AMDs are also known to run a little bit hotter.

I think if you're on a budget, gaming only with your PC, or looking for a high performance/cost ratio you should get an AMD.
If you have a lot of money to spend and you run a lot of taxing progs, go Intel.

People argue over this topic day in and day out and solve absolutely nothing. It might as well be an argument between religions or politics.
probably the best and straight to the point piece of info you need regarding your question. Intel's stock is also dropping currently. There is a big demand for AMD's in prebuilt computer from companies like dell and hp etc...etc...but there was this article regarding the CEO from Dell talkin about how they don't need AMD to make money. He was quite arrogant about it really.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 01:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 01:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

oh well my athlon(clocked at 2.55ghz) that i got for 83$ can outperform 3.6 ghz pentiums for 450.00 both found on newegg... on both multimedia and arithmetic benchmarks on sandra... just doesnt bode well when technology from AMD that has been around for quite a while is beating a top intel chip of today, and with the AMD chips catchin up in all other areas, there is no doubt if things continue like this then intel will be looking up at AMD for a while.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 06:21 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

I say dumb 1 of the gig sticks of ram for a better processor, 3500+ or 4000+
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 12:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

nvidia can i see a pic of your comp, like inside and stuff sounds like it would look awesome
Echo_ is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 12:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slvrstang
I say dumb 1 of the gig sticks of ram for a better processor, 3500+ or 4000+
Thumbs up to that.
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 03:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

If you're going to do things like photo and video editing, go with Pentium. But for gaming, go with AMD

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 03:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Echo_
nvidia can i see a pic of your comp, like inside and stuff sounds like it would look awesome
He doesn't really have that PC, its all a lie. There are threads and threads about it.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 04:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

I also agree to dump a gig of ram and have just dual sticks of 512mb.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 01:02 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
He doesn't really have that PC, its all a lie. There are threads and threads about it.
i really hate it when all i see are " FLAMES " on a post , please dont do this again!
if its a lie then he has to live with it and we DONT..but give credit where credit is due ..he does have a bunc of his S@#t together!

as far as ram , the more the merrier , or so it goes , but for now 1 gig is more than you will need, although if you look to the future, 1 gig may not be enough... these things are changing so fast today 1 gig is enough , then next week its no where near what you need !
__________________

__________________
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.