AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 15 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2005, 02:23 PM   #141 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

I was just using the half life description as an example of comparison. Obviously processors aren't tested for half life, but the general idea is similar, you take an observation over a short amount of time and multiply the time respectively.
__________________

__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 03:23 PM   #142 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i wouldnt say amd's are worse to overclock, look at the 45w Athlon Xp - Mobile 2400+
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 04:18 PM   #143 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Say what..? AMD are alot better to OC. They are made for OC purpose. I dont see any Intel processor thats as easy to OC as the Xp's. Same with semprons.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 10:13 PM   #144 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default

Umm semprons arnt that great of processors.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 10:26 PM   #145 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
Say what..? AMD are alot better to OC. They are made for OC purpose. I dont see any Intel processor thats as easy to OC as the Xp's. Same with semprons.
Thats way off. overclocking k7 chips bring forth alot of heat and you're lucky to get 300-400 mhz stable. My friend OC'ed his 2.4GHz p4 northwood right out of the box to 3.4GHz, ran CPU burn-in for an hour max temp 54c with no errors, he cranked it to 3.7Ghz for show then dropped it to 2.8 to run at and has had it since early summer.

P4's are definitely the best overclockers but higher clock speeds don't necessarily equal better performance.
m1thotyn is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 10:53 PM   #146 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default

Have you seen the oc's off of the XP-M chips? they are insane!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 10:59 PM   #147 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Somewhat but I have yet to meet or hear of anyone in person that has gotten one over 2.8GHz. Tomshardware pushed a P4 to 5.2GHz using liquid nitrogen for cooling, doesent mean it can really run that way or that you'll be able to do it. I'll judge the mobile athlons overclockability on wether I see it running stable for myself, the entire idea really is that they run at a lower voltage now that takes care of a heating problem, but I don't think it would be stable. If I see it, i'll beleive it.
m1thotyn is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 11:00 PM   #148 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by m1thotyn
Thats way off. overclocking k7 chips bring forth alot of heat and you're lucky to get 300-400 mhz stable. My friend OC'ed his 2.4GHz p4 northwood right out of the box to 3.4GHz, ran CPU burn-in for an hour max temp 54c with no errors, he cranked it to 3.7Ghz for show then dropped it to 2.8 to run at and has had it since early summer.
that's average for a 2.4/2.6C chip...3.2-3.4GHz is doable on alot of Intel systems, even with not so hot hardware. But compare those to a 3.0GHz XP-M PC. like you said...


Quote:
Originally posted by m1thotyn
P4's are definitely the best overclockers but higher clock speeds don't necessarily equal better performance.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 11:01 PM   #149 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default

Ask nubius or 4w4k3 they will show you.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 02:00 AM   #150 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
Thats way off. overclocking k7 chips bring forth alot of heat and you're lucky to get 300-400 mhz stable. My friend OC'ed his 2.4GHz p4 northwood right out of the box to 3.4GHz, ran CPU burn-in for an hour max temp 54c with no errors, he cranked it to 3.7Ghz for show then dropped it to 2.8 to run at and has had it since early summer.
My friend had that chip and he could push it over 3.4ghz with no problems. Thats because thats a great overclocking chip. Other models with different clock speeds and core technology's overclock differently. Amd's athlon xp is known to be great for overclockers as well. There is a mod where you can turn a Desktop XP chip into a Mobile chip with Athlon MP capabilities as well. That means the a whole bunch of extensions have been unlocked and overclocking is a delight. Depending on your motherboard, with a completely modded Barton 2500+, you can get full voltage control, multiplier access from 1.0x to 24x and bus changing of coarse. With water cooling you could push it past 3200+ speed.

Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.