AMD Processor Numbers/Etc. Without? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2005, 08:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

Its possible that its a fake AMD chip, every day now i see more and more faked chips and parts being put out that are supposed to be the real deal, they work great and all but they end up failing soon.. So i would ask why the modle numbers and such aint on there. Unless they did pull it from a system.

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 12:14 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178

It was supposed to be new/retail package, and I did ask Newegg, they said this (and I quote:P):
"Unfortunately, Newegg does not offer any technical assistance. We also do not test or build systems. We are not technicians, only quality retailers with low prices."

I tried going through AMD tech support, but when I finally get to the page of mailing them, it comes up with an error (AMD's Email Support *sucks*:P).

And I ran CPUZ, everything seems normal, a picture below... I doubt anything is wrong, I'm just curious as to why some do have it and some don't... trying to do everything I can to figure it out without calling :P Oh well, maybe a few minutes on the phone with a... smart person wouldn't hurt, but what are the odds of that!

Vormund is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 12:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

(AMD's Email Support *sucks*:P).
yup, I couldn't even get to their e-mail either...

Why do you have this written in your sig

Winchester Core @ 90nm
??? 'AT' 90nm really doesn't make sense being that it's not a speed, and seeing as how it's a winchester then that pretty much acknowledges it's 90nm......seems kind of pointless and redundant to me
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 12:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178

It probably is, I'm just a n00b, what can I say. It just looks nice... to me :P And I could tell you I didn't know that Winchester = 90nm, as I don't keep up 100% on that stuff (of course)... so just goes to say I'm n00b

I can't believe it though that AMD has such a crappy web site, hehe, at least for the darn support Ahhhhh, don't make me use the phone !

Vormund is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.