AMD not heading the multi-core route like intel is... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2006, 09:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
You don't understand. Programs have threads, right now on my single core Athlon XP 2700+ I am probably running 100-120 threads. If I had 120 cores, then each thread would be running continuously and the processor wouldn't need to time splice.

More and faster cores is the way to go.
Then how come people say "a 4000+ is better for gaming(than an x2 3800+)"

I'm just asking for clarification, not saying you are wrong or anything.
__________________

__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 10:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

covered it already...
http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hange+the+game
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
You don't understand. Programs have threads, right now on my single core Athlon XP 2700+ I am probably running 100-120 threads. If I had 120 cores, then each thread would be running continuously and the processor wouldn't need to time splice.

More and faster cores is the way to go.
How much time and skill would it need to be able to program something like that? There aren't that many apps programed for multi-core CPUs now, let alone ones for 120. I know that in the future this could probably not be the problem, but the question is: Are developers going to take the needed steps towards supporting multiple cores (to the point where there are dozens of cores)? And not taking shortcuts and make a real multi-threaded app.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.