AMD not heading the multi-core route like intel is... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2006, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 67
Default AMD not heading the multi-core route like intel is...

Have you guys seen this? AMD are so innovative, they are awsome!
http://www.aviransplace.com/2006/12/...lti-core-race/

[edit]fixed link
__________________

Spartan III is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 08:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

It's good, since once dual cores are mainstream, programs are written for four cores, etc.
__________________

__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Deathawk
It's good, since once dual cores are mainstream, programs are written for four cores, etc.
Are you joking? Here, instead of reinventing the wheel, I'll just go find my post from months ago, and you can read it.

Here it is, just read the whole thread...

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...al+socket+core
The General is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 12:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Calm down, calm down...

I think you misunderstood me/I didn't get my point across very well, since I don't really understand how all of this stuff works/will work in the future, but if quad cores become mainstream and stuff, perhaps they will become a necesity, etc. and could render singlecore processors useless. Then octocore processors become mainstream, they become a necesity or something, and render quad cores useless. As I said before, I don't know how this will work out, but 100 core processors really seem like a lot... not many people can max out two..(with some exceptions like encoding(I think.))
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 12:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I'm with AMD on this one, I believe going to 2 cores isn't a bad idea, or even 4 cores. But it will just get out of hand on anything higher than that. Programming would be much more difficult. It's already decently hard enough to code for 2 cores, let alone 4+ cores.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 04:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it is difficult to program SMP apps but the main problem is most companies either can't be bothered or try to take shortcuts. there are some neat multi-threaded apps out there where you only need specify how many threads and it can adapt to any SMP system. software companies though, instead of starting from the drawing board try to graft SMP support on top of a program.

i guess no one realises that AMD and Intel are only the leading mainstream processor manufacturers. there's RISC and IBM and many more. quad core is nothing new, just availability to the average joe. even 16 and 32 core processors aren't new....
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 07:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Well, none of them are used for the stuff an average joe would use them for though, right?
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 11:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

You don't understand. Programs have threads, right now on my single core Athlon XP 2700+ I am probably running 100-120 threads. If I had 120 cores, then each thread would be running continuously and the processor wouldn't need to time splice.

More and faster cores is the way to go.
The General is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 01:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
More and faster cores is the way to go. [/B]
Then you think that intel is going in the right direction? What about AMD's idea? I still don't understand completely what they are doing but it sounds more efficient.
Spartan III is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 09:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 67
Default

bump
__________________

Spartan III is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.