AMD K6 300mhz 2nd level cache - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2003, 02:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 169
Question AMD K6 300mhz 2nd level cache

does any one know if an amd k6 300mhz proccessor has a 2nd level cache and if so how big is it??
__________________

97lt2959 is offline  
Old 02-10-2003, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

The L2 cache for an AMD K6 is on the motherboard itself, so check with your motherboard documentation to see how much you've got.
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 02-10-2003, 03:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 169
Arrow is this it

it says in the pc1000 mianboard book (m577users manual) that its a 1mb pipeline burst sunchronous l2 cache is that it as it doesnt seem right seems a bit low to me??????
97lt2959 is offline  
Old 02-10-2003, 05:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

No, that certainly wouldn't be low for a K6... IIRC, the K6 CPUs only support up to 1mb of L2 anyways.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 02-10-2003, 05:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 169
Default

ok thanx m8ty, you can tell im using an old pc cant you
97lt2959 is offline  
Old 02-10-2003, 08:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Been there, done that... My K6-2 500mhz only had 512kb of L2 cache

If you wanna get crazy, buy a K6-III as they have on-die L2 cache, and they use your mobo's L2 as L3. Makes for a decent cheap upgrade for an old system.
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.