AMD/INTEL Processer problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2004, 07:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

800 Mhz is currently the highest (official) frequency for the FSB.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

OKay, now that my minds set on the 3500+ with hyper transport, do you need a special grade of memory for this?
__________________

Alex81388 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

PC3200 (400 Mhz) or higher would be the appropriate choice. Anything lower would act as a bottleneck to the rest of your system.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 104
Default

I know your problem you are looking at intels!!
__________________
Super Lan Boy
AMD XP 2800 (Barton Core)
1024mb Kingston 3200 RAM
Gainward Ti 4800 128mb
120Gig HD 7200rpm SATA 150 8meg
40Gig HD 7200rpm ata 100 8meg Buff
Gigabyte K7 triton SE mobo
Black Lights with green cables
Windows Xp Home
52X24X52 CD/RW
DVD Player
450 watt psu
BIG_AIZZLE is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

How much should I get? I was thinking two sticks either 256 or 512 each, price is a step up, but any suggestions?
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Also Ive been on the 'ATI Radeon 9800 pro 128' but what the hell is this saphire mumbo jumbo?

Is it a bargain way of selling them or whats going on?
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I would say get a gig kit of some good ram either Corsair XMS ram or Kingston HyperX series ram. Either should be good.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Alex81388
How much should I get? I was thinking two sticks either 256 or 512 each, price is a step up, but any suggestions?
Two modules (2x512) would be the most efficient.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 09:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I would say get a gig kit
- Me
Quote:
Two modules (2x512) would be the most efficient.
- Agex

To let you know, when I said 'get a gig KIT' a kit means 2x512mb incase you weren't aware

EDIT: That was to the thread owner not agex lol...but agex knows this!
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 09:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Okay.

Still lingering on the ATI 9800pro 128mb.

Although just like intel and AMD, I've never tried the nVidia series with the GForces. But ATI has held their footing very nicely.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.