AMD or Intel for internet surfing? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2005, 09:18 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike

They are comparable, but the architechture is different. If you notice a AMD 3000+ performs at speeds = or greater to the P4 3.0 Ghz. Just like the 3500+ would be w/ P4 3.5 Ghz. AMD's FSB is higher most of the time than Intel's.

It really just depends on what you want to do. You could get a cheap 700Mhz PIII with 512 RAM and do just fine.

<img src=\"\" border=\"0\">
Check out Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 09:26 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Originally posted by Nubius
yeah...I was aware of the semprons taking over the durons, but I wasn't sure of how low the semprons actually go in it's only for Socket 754 right? I was trying to stick to old school with socket A system, plus the durons of yesteryear are probably closer to the power of his current celeron.

1.6GHz duron $40.....that's more than enough power and with a low budget...or you could 'spoil' yourself and pay $43 for a 1.8GHz
Their are SOCKET A semprons as well.

Anyways, SKT 370 celerons are no longer produced...

EDIT: Newer semprons have 64bit capabilities

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 09:31 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Their are SOCKET A semprons as well.
that's what I was unsure of, but yeah I see one here:

$112 bucks though...considering his needs a cheap *** duron would be fine
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 09:42 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
Shumway's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729

Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
EDIT: Newer semprons have 64bit capabilities

2 day's after getting my sempron the place got a shipment of 64bit one's I was thinking of taking mine back and getting 1 but i didn't have the extra cash
Shumway is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 01:13 AM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross

we have a great system for surfing at my dads house. its a Pentium Three 600mhx, 198mb ram, Nvidia TNT 2 with 32mb. One thing I highly suggest is that if your not a total newbie when it comes to computers, you should look into linux. if that is truely all your doing Linux will be better. secure, fast, no viruses, no spyware/adware no worries... however if your doing a wireless netowrk it can be a little harder. if you need a simple image editing program there are plenty free ones on the interent and Open Office is the equivelent to MS word (opens MS word files) . its got spell check and all the good stuff. I suggest Ubuntu Linux. search for it in google. It comes with image editing software, along with open office and a fair amount of other programs already in the os. it installs just like windows. also, you can update ALL your programs at once similar to windows update only for all your software!
2 GIGs Patriot RAM

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:31 AM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

true linux definitely does increase browsing pleasure on older sytems!!! i was under the impression that a sempron was a sempron and had its own core, not modified architecture? its surprising the overkill people want for the internet. my pII-400 out performs my friends pIII-637 for browsing. if you have anything over about 400mhz and your browsing is slow then i say take a look at other factors that could be slowing you down such as a crapped out HDD (virtual memory and internet cache) and memory.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 11:04 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147

No viruses on Linux? I think you will find that the script kiddies are now turning their grubby little fingers to Linux etc. The recent success of Linux will be it's downfall. It was never worth writing a virus for an OS with so few users. Don't get me wrong, I am now starting to dabble in Linux, all I'm saying is don't naively open your system to the internet without suitable protection. Practice safe surfing.
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 11:27 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923

You will notice when it comes to downloading pics and video streaming and things that require more power.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 11:31 AM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Well, back to the original topic of this thread (you don't want me to get on the topic of Linux vs. Windows), your processor doesn't really have anything to do with the speed of web surfing. Its all about your connection speed. You could have an AMD64 FX-57 and if you had a dial-up connection, it be as slow as molasses. If you are on dial-up, consider upgrading to DSL or cable, that will make a world of difference even on your Celeron.

EDIT: It suprises me nobody has asked him his connection speed yet. I know where I live, people buy new computers all the time thinking it will speed up their Internet, but they are on dial-up, so nothing will speed that up except upgrading to DSL or cable.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 11:36 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923

Yes, connection speed does make a difference. A big one. But you can notice the difference between processors also when it comes to doing bigger things on the internet. I have been there and done that.

ingeborgdot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.