amd, intel, or exeon board? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2004, 04:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to mokelizer Send a message via Yahoo to mokelizer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dimitri
Definitely go for AMD, their much cheaper for their quality... Probably a 64bit, they're fast as hell
What makes u say the 64 bits are fast as hell? I not sure what OS your running but no applications or OS support 64 bit yet, so the 64 bit application has nothing to do with the speed considering wre all running on 32 bit systems, go with intel.
__________________

mokelizer is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 08:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Default

nah ya ok i go with amd lol
__________________

psycho16 is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 10:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

ok mokelizer you deeply mistaken IBM's OS/2 supports 64 bit and Windows xp longhorn supports it doochie
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 11:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

I ahdnt really looked nothing up but talking out my ***. Id say the 64 bit is faster cause a 32 bit string would be smaller. Id figure to accumated 64 bits of info it would be wider and more pathway's leadign to the processor.Might not be 100 correct but id be intrested in a simple explain on it.
64's are faster but not like double or something fantastic like that.They also come with a huge price and that is almost double.
Whats intresting though is you got Supercomputer,.
Server's
Desktop.
64's are really just downgraded server chip's atleast the FX was.Guessing the Athlon 64 is a sibling.the search for bigger and better has broken the desktop/server barrier.You think they make a 128 bit to make server's sererate again will desktop's not follow.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 11:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BxSlipSk8718
ok mokelizer you deeply mistaken IBM's OS/2 supports 64 bit and Windows xp longhorn supports it doochie
yeah, but neither of those have been released yet... doochie, longhorn wont be out until 2k5, the only OS so far the has been released that is 64-bit is a ver of winxp and a version of linux
dethangel is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 02:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to mokelizer Send a message via Yahoo to mokelizer
Default

thanks dethangel i was going to have to recorrect my friend BxSlipSk8718
__________________

mokelizer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.