AMD, Intel difference in $500! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2004, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29
Default AMD, Intel difference in $500!

Hello. Im looking for a new computer, and have my eye on two particular ones. The specs for both are EXACTLY the same, even same manufacturer, just the processor chip thats different.
The computer with the AMD Athlon XP 3200+, is $400 CHEAPER than the P4 2.8/ HT. Now im thinking, do they differ that much in performance?
__________________

fofoo is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

well, which 2.8? C or E?

both have HT, but have different Core, C = northwood, and E = prescott (newer, but not as good as northwood).

BEST IS: get AMD 3200+ Barton and Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Motherboard.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 06:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

The P4 is a little faster (literally under 5%), but that's the only difference. I would DEFINATELY buy the Athlon chip. If you still have the $400, buy a better video card or something!
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Adding one more thing : a previous mistake,


Intel 2.8 E (the one on prescott) is not capable of HT, its only C series that is with HT
, other E series are with HT definately, but only the 2.8E isnt, and as wll its with 533 Bus
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

prescotts are capable of ht. where are you buying ur parts? wtf 400$ difference?

if u get them from newegg the 3200+ and 2.8e are almost the same price
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Honestly I would go with the p4
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 09:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

For gaming u should take AMD

For editing u should take Intel
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 10:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

There has to be more of a difference than just processor to justify a $400 difference. Most computer manufacturers will tell you things like "512MB DDR RAM"or "128MB Video RAM on GeForce FX Integrated Graphics," or "80GB HDD." These specs are misleading because they don't tell you the speed of your RAM, gfx card, or HDD. My guess is that the one for $400 less is built with crap parts.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 10:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

show us the link
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 11:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29
Default

http://flyers.bestbuycanada.ca.nmsrv...&image_id=2055

Sorry im not major techie like you guys so i dont know how to build my own comp so i have to buy from these places.
__________________

fofoo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.