AMD/INTEL comparison - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2005, 10:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SushiBoi92
haha i have prescott and ATi so i guess it'll be amd and geforce, which is how i laid it out a week ago anyways...

everyone seems to be OCing P4's i almost never hear of OC AMD's but then again AMD's tend to run a bit hot, and obviously definetly, for sure NO stock for me, maybe a mini A/C might do.....
heh, i see the total opposite of you...i see a lot of overclocked amd's and i see them both stock and oc'd a lot cooler than intel....*shrugs*


like said before..amd for gaming...intel for..well...other stuff i guess..iv'e noticed intel a bit more pricey..probably cause of the name.

i dunno....there isn't a HUGE difference between the two..but, just enough i guess.

as for comparin' the speeds...just look at amd's + number (3000+) and it's the intel equivelent....amd run's at a lower clock speed but can still put out the effort....it's wierd, but...whatever works....
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

A 3500 will do well. You can also EASILY overclock it to 3800 speeds
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MichaelStanding
AMD(Apple Modem Device) Is a good tracking system, I would recommend it for running dos at reasonable speeds.
AMD = Advanced Micro Devices.
yes they would run DOS very fast against Intel's CPU's, but let's take a step into the present

Athlon's don't have as high clock speed against Intel's CPU's but perform about the same or better.

I've posted info on AMD and clock speeds here
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.