AMD installation problems, FSB help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2004, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11
Default AMD installation problems, FSB help

i just bought a AMD 2600 with 333MHz FSB, and it came with the compatable motherboard.

the problem is, they gave me a 512 MB ram that does not coincide with the 333Mhz FSB(i got that from a chart that came with the motherboard's documentation). the ram is a PC3200 and that only works with a 400MHz. it says im supposed to have a PC2700 or PC2100 ram.

the 3200 RAM doesnt cause any problems, it just doesnt let my processor do its max speed. in the BIOS it only gives me up too 200 MHz FSB. when i choose this, my windows doesnt load, and the highest i can go is 166.

at 133 mhz it gives me about 1.2 ghz clock speed, but when i go to 166 it gives me a nice 2 Ghz clock speed. then going to 200 MHz gives me an unusable 2.4 ghz. am I overclocking it? or is the ram not being compatible giving me the problems?

i feel that i should be able to go to 333 mhz but i dont have that option in the bios.
__________________

loopsider is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11
Default

is the 2700 more expensive than PC3200? i need to know by tomorrow
__________________

loopsider is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 95
Default

umm everythign is fine, amd 2600 just means about the equivalent to an intel 2.6ghz, i have an amd 2800 and stock it runs at about 2.1ghz. as for the front side bus, for the bios settings you cut it in half so everything is right. the fsb speed should be set to 166(multiply by 2 u get 333, well 332 but its really 333). your memory is fine too, you don't have to change it at all. however, if you want to overclock, figure out a. if your cpu is locked or unlocked and if its unlocked, find out what your cpu is running at in "ghz" and then change the multiplier to a divisible of 200. i.e., my processor was runnign at 2100ghz. it came stock likes yours with a 333mhz fsb but i had 400mhz ram liek you, so i went into the bios and chnaged the multiplier to 10.5 and changed the fsb setting to 200. thus, creating a 400mhz fsb. hope thats not too crazy for you. in lamens terms though, everythign for you is working fine, no need for returns
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Epox EP-8RDA3+ rev. 1.1
Corsair XMS 2x512mb PC3200 C2PT
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
Maxtor Diamond Max 9 80GB SATA HD
Maxtor Diamond Max 10 80GB SATA HD
Lite-on 16x DVD/48x CD-rom drive
Lite-on 52x/32x/52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SB Live! 5.1 Digital
Antec SX1040BII Case
4x80mm case fans, 2 in, 2 out

OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
Devil4915 is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11
Default

wow thanks for the help, i searched everywhere and could not find an explanation. i didnt know that it was multiplied by two, when i run at 200 mhz nothing works, and im too scared to mess with the voltage.

but thanks a lot for clearing up everything, i was going to go crazy if i didnt know what to do before tomorrow.
loopsider is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

you need to up the voltage to get it stable
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 02:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

The AMD 2600+ is supposed to run at 2.13 GHz, and thats with PC2100 RAM. I have a friend who overclocks his to 2.4 GHz, but if you do that, you really need good cooling.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.