AMD Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2004, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Default AMD Help

Ok, I'm a pentium guy. That's all I've ever used before.
Now I was told that AMD are better for gaming. So, I looked into some AMD mobos and processors. Can anyone tell me if this is a good combination? Thanks


ASUS "K8V SE Deluxe" K8T800 Chipset

AMD Athlon 64 3400+, 1MB L2 Cache, 64-bit Processor
__________________

E-Rock is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 04:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Yeah, good setup. It is the one I plan on building soon

If you want to save a few bucks you can go for the 3200+
__________________

__________________
Current Computer Specs
Athlon XP 2200+ (266 FSB)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB Corsair PC2700 C2 Pro Series (2x512)
Thermaltake 11+ HSF
Asus GeForce 4 Ti4600 128mb
420 Antec TruePower
4x Plextor DVDRW
Soundblaster Live 5.1!
120gb Maxtor SATA 7200rpm
60gb Maxtor ATA/133 7200rpm

Currently building a new one (ETA July/August)
archon45 is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 05:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Yup, an Athlon 64 3200 would be fine, and I don't think you'd notice a difference at all. You can consider the Asus K8N-E deluxe too, this one got an Nvidia chipset. Many people prefer these. Just read some documentation/reviews to choose the one that suits your need.

And, since it's very important in gaming, what kinda video card do you plan to get?
jeece is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 07:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

I agree get the NVidia based board, all the review i have read say they are faster, more reliable, and easier to set up.

get the 3200+ and OC it to 2.2Ghz

also get a kickass vid card (in order or best to worst) X800XT, 6800 ultra, 9800xt, 5950 ultra, 9600xt.... wouldn't go lower than that on a "gaming" machine
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 07:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

Yeah that is a good setup, You might want to even look at the 3800+ I think it is, it uses the new 939 pin setup and that one will probably been in use for a long time, so if you decide to upgrade it will be simple
str8lazy is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

But those aren't reliable enough yet, go for an nForce2 mobo (preferably my MSI) that way you have dual channel RAM, rock-solid stability, and a bunch of other goodies.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 09:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Default

I'm getting the x800 Pro board at least for now. Oh, and I'm not much for OC'ing. I really don't want to lower the life of a computer just to get a lil bit more performance.

Ok, then, I'll go with the 3200+ to save a few $$. One question tho, should I go with the 2.0 ghz and 1MB L2 Cache with the Clawhammer, or the 2.2 GHz and 512k L2 Cache with the Newcaslte? They are both the same price.

What mobo would you recomend for it? I'm havin a bit of a trouble finding an nForce2 one. I did find this nForce3 one though...

MSI nForce3 250 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Athlon 64 Socket 754 CPU, Model "K8N Neo Platinum" (MS-7030)

Is that one good? One thing I'm lookin for is ease of installation.
E-Rock is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 03:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

I beleive the NewCastle is the faster of the 2 processors

I have the Clawhammer but i have it set to 2.2 (same as newcastle)

The newcastle is also newer.

If they are the same price i would get the newcastle.

BUT i would wait and get a socket 939 mobo with a 3800+ i beleive

its only 2.4ghz (which is still more than the 3200&3400, and the same as the FX-51&FX-53)

It is the fastest processor AMD makes. It runs dual channel unlike the 3200&3400 and it uses Unbuffered ram which is MUCH cheaper than registered and MUCH faster.

but if you can't wait...3200+newcastle is the way to go
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 10:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default

I had the same question. I think I pretty much decided to wait for a ClawHammer socket 939 chip. Much easier to upgrade down the road considering the socket 745 are "dead". I read bad reviews on nForce3, saying it wasnt developed well enough, and I also see a lot of theguys in these forums with a VAI chipset AMD64 board. From what I understand, you gain 200 mhz from ClawHammer to NewCastle, not quite sure if higher 1mb L2 cache is better than the 512k L2 cache. I would assume the higher is better, the answers I got on it yesterday werent too clear so I'll study up some more.
__________________
Current Computer Specs
Athlon XP 2200+ (266 FSB)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB Corsair PC2700 C2 Pro Series (2x512)
Thermaltake 11+ HSF
Asus GeForce 4 Ti4600 128mb
420 Antec TruePower
4x Plextor DVDRW
Soundblaster Live 5.1!
120gb Maxtor SATA 7200rpm
60gb Maxtor ATA/133 7200rpm

Currently building a new one (ETA July/August)
archon45 is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 11:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Default

I would get the 3800+, but it costs a little too much for me. The 3800+ costs $714 compared to the 3200+ at $282. So, I might be able to squeeze out a few more $$ but I'm not sure ~$500 worth.
__________________

E-Rock is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.