AMD FX-60 and 5000+ CPUs coming soon - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2005, 10:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

*runs around in circles and gets pennies out of the couch* ima start saving now.. by the time im 50 ill be able to buy them
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 10:51 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36
Default

So you mean today all AMD 4000+ chips and under, and dual cores are going to be really cheap?
__________________

davie23223 is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 10:55 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

All I want to know is, will the socket M2's overclock alot? And will it mean the end of socket 939?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 01:14 AM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

nobody knows, it hasnt been released yet. Chances it will overclock about the same 939.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 05:58 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the new memory controller is important to whether it will overclock well.
remember, they're moving to DDR2 so they'll have to have a new design
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 07:24 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I want one!! but they probly won't be available in canada for a long time.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 03:38 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

it should be similar, they cant just make a crappy memory controller.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 10:43 PM   #28 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

News flash!

I just came across this, even though it was posted November 3rd. It's an article on AnandTech.

Quote:
Socket M2 Processor Roadmap; FX-62 and Athlon 64 X2 5200+

Socket M2, the 940 pin DDR2-ready Athlon 64 Socket, will launch a little bit later than we originally expected with mass production just starting in late April. However, even though the launch has been slightly delayed from the original March timeframe, there is still good news for those on DDR1; Socket 939 will stick around well into Q1'07 on the performance desktop - and well beyond that for Sempron. In fact, AMD's latest roadmap goes all the way to Q2'07 with Socket 939 Sempron.
Also included with the article was this table:
Quote:
AMD Desktop Roadmap

Product.........................Core...........Soc ket...Launch Date
Athlon 64 FX-62............Windsor......M2.........Q2'06
Athlon 64 X2 5200+......Windsor......M2.........Q4'06
Athlon 64 X2 5000+......Windsor......M2.........Q2'06
Athlon 64 X2 4800+......Windsor......M2.........Q2'06
Athlon 64 X2 4600+......Windsor......M2.........Q2'06
Athlon 64 X2 4200+......Windsor......M2.........Q2'06
Athlon 64 4000+...........Orleans.......M2.........Q2'06
Athlon 64 3800+...........Orleans.......M2.........Q2'06
Athlon 64 3500+...........Orleans.......M2.........Q2'06
Sempron 3800+............Manila.........M2.........Q3'06
Sempron 3600+............Manila.........M2.........Q2'06
Sempron 3500+............Manila.........M2.........Q2'06
Sempron 3400+............Manila.........M2.........Q2'06
Sempron 3200+............Manila.........M2.........Q2'06
Sempron 3000+............Manila.........M2.........Q2'06
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...oc.aspx?i=2587
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 11:00 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
All I want to know is, will the socket M2's overclock alot? And will it mean the end of socket 939?
Based on previous AMD trends, the primitive cores should overclock freakishly well with the results slowly degrading over time

I'm still much more interested in mobile cores availible on S1...I'm only going to even consider upgrading if they are yielding results like the older XP-Ms were...I do not want to have to deal with overall bad DDR2 platforms though
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 11:25 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I know...I was hoping for a good socket 939 mobile chip that would basically be the next equivelant of the XP-Ms

I don't think AMD will make a bad DDR2 platform...that's my hope anyway....I figure if Intel uses DDR2 and gets less than an AMD64 does with it's memory controller and DDR1....then if they optimize that memory controller for DDR2 we should see ridiculous memory bandwidth and performace....then games very well might NOT need 2gb because 1gb of DDR2 on an AMD memory controller should be awesome.

Regardless, I won't be able to upgrade for a while....I'll be leaving to seattle in july to start school up there and it will be mighty expensive so I doubt I'll be jumping on the m2 bandwagon anytime soon..

hell by the time I will be able to put money down towards a good computer they might have another socket out
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.