AMD Dual Core Sneak peak info - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 09:28 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Only dale is going to name his kids Intel, Hyper Threading, and LGA775.
JK dude. chill.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:09 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Because it's dual core doesn't mean it's double the clock speed. Like it's 2x2.4s, right? but because of latency and everything, it only preforms like 1.5x the clock speed of one of the processors. So the 2.4s preform like 3.6 gig AMDs...but once you factor in the HTT and everything...you multiply by 1.5 (i'm multiplying under the assumption that if you mulitiply AMD's clock speed by 1.5, that's about the equivlant intel), and you get that the dual core chip preforms like a *does math* 5.4 gighertz intel........*checks figures*....
that chip's underrated...it should be a 5400+...

aww....and i just got myself a newcastle 3000+ and that's the computer that's gunna last me the next 4 years.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:11 PM   #33 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Four years?

Man, you're gonna have to spread the butter pretty thin...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:11 PM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

desi your sig is huge...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:24 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

oh yeah, sorry, ill remove it.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:38 PM   #36 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
What? It is the 4800+ that's what it's called, it's not 4.8GHz because it's not two 2.4GHz cores working like that so you can't technically consider it working at 4.8GHz at all....it's the equivelant to a 4.8GHz intel, so it'd be pointless to call it a 6000+ since it doesn't perform to a 6Ghz Intel.

As chris said basically, it's to help Intel users although all I've ever seen it do is confuse people. It's at 2GHz (if it's an XP and 1.8GHz if it's an XP-M, this being the 2400+ I'm talking about) but it can do the same if not better performance of that of a 2.4GHz Intel chip.......like I said they do that number so if you don't know of AMD chips, you'll be like "Oh it's kind of like a 2.4GHz intel even though it's 2GHz, I got it...cool!!!!!!"

Of course with a name like FX-55 lol and you just see it's 2.6GHz and costing $800+ I guess you'd think AMD is crap and overcharges when in reality that chip is awesome.

4800+ dual core..........that's just amazing
Intel will still try to market with their true clockspeeds making AMD's rating not mean much at all.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:09 PM   #37 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Yea...that's why AMD has tough marketing problems...the normal consumer is too dumb to know the difference
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 02:30 AM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

meh, that's fine with me, I'd rather say 'Yeah I'm got AMD, you're too noob to understand cause you're intel' than have a bunch of people who know nothing saying 'ehh I have a crappy FX-55 its only 2.6GHz'

AMD is really consumer based and listen to peoples demands, they don't need to market and make stupid commercials with the blue man group lol and spout out HT TECHNOLOGY!!! like that means anything to the people they are selling it to.
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:37 AM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Hyper Threading just sounds sooooo good, even though it isnt.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 07:12 PM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

lol. DJ
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.