AMD Dual Core Sneak peak info - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default AMD Dual Core Sneak peak info

http://www.hexus.co.uk/#newsitem1113422014,92848,

Not a huge amount of info, but every tid bit is interesting....gotta love this part

Quote:
and we'll be surprised if this doesn't rape the already impressive Pentium Extreme Edition 840
RAPED
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

4800+!?!?!

Holy...f*cking...sh*t.

Ok, screw Venice, gimme some of that yo!

edit - that really shows how freaking efficent AMD are making their clock cycles, I mean, an AMD clock speed supposedly performing on par with an Intel double the speed.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

hopefully, that means the price on the FX-53 will go down

ROT IN HELL INTEL!!!
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

Intels gonna burn
intels gonna burn
intels gonna burn


yay

marshmellows for everyone

Chrono is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

wonder how much that is going to cost
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

A LOT!!! Considering its new technology, and can beat realy high end chips...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 11:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
wonder how much that is going to cost
lol you know it's gonna be a pretty penny.........none of them ugly pennies.

But yeah consider how much a 4000+ isnt it like $500 or $600? Now tack on that it's a dual core, it's a new release and it's now the 4400+ you can pretty much assume it will be well beyond $500....probably close to current FX-55's if not the same or more for the 4800+

But yes that is dreamy isn't it, equivelant to a 4.8GHz intel with dual cores :drool:

And of course overclocking in mind makes it all the better
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Haha, an FX-55 looks so insignifigant now compared to some of these freaking monsters, overclocking a 4800+ with phase change up to a 6000+ or something is just freaking ridiculous.

The early early benchmarks posted around a while ago must've been either wrong or the core just wasn't tested properly because it showed the 2.4GHz nearly on par with the 4000+.

4800+ is such a freaking massive climb though, Intel better watch out as it appears AMD has hit their next big breakthrough and it seems they've got something new going for them every week.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

mmmmmmmmm I can't freakin wait, will be 5 years before I can afford on though haha.

Gotta love the fact a simple BIOS flash and boom you can use that processor, no need for a completel new chipset like intel
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
mmmmmmmmm I can't freakin wait, will be 5 years before I can afford on though haha.
They said the same thing about a decade ago when my CPU came out. lol.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.