AMD delays Phenom 9700 into Q2 2008 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2008, 05:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD delays Phenom 9700 into Q2 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern
I thought they cut it back to produce Energy Efficient ones?
Yep. That's what the channel wants first.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 06:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD delays Phenom 9700 into Q2 2008

since you are a Phenom-master do you know what I said about Phenom's TLB Fix is "to run the fix and overclock" it back is accurate (I heard about it on XS not sure if its true)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 06:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: AMD delays Phenom 9700 into Q2 2008

wow they are really killing the phenom, by that time you will wait a few more months an nahalem will be out, which is even faster, amd needs to pick up there socks, and i mean quick. they should have just released teh chips and doen a 9750 version and 9950 version like intel did with there e6000 series, and there is no way you will 100% your cpu, that will cause the crash, i have yet to go over 50% on my c2q, alltho i do not fold.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
still has the bug
B3 stepping will definitely not have the bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
so what is the point of OCing it if it has a chance of crashing ur system at full load?
I don't think you've seen the thread where there have been people systematically hunting for the TLB bug
the only time the TLB ever showed up, is with:
* VMware
* 4 programs running, maxing the CPU load
* Cool'n'Quiet enabled

the TLB bug NEVER showed up with cool'n' quiet disabled, or without VMware running. no matter what load the CPU was under.

and overclocking does not in any way increase the chances of the TLB bug occurring.

The only reason AMD didn't release the higher-end chips, is because the OEM market wants those chips without the bug.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
Plus, i hate it how the BIOS fix decreases performance.
So use a BIOS that doesn't have the fix.
If you really really want the TLB bug fixed, disable Cool'n'quiet. Or don't use VMware or any other virtualisation.

I've got BIOS 1.13 beta on my K9A2 Platinum, and I'll be sticking with it unless any of the newer versions can be modified to remove the TLB fix.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
i can hold out until the 9700 n 9900 come out.
With an unlocked multiplier, who needs a higher model number?
you can just increase the multiplier, and you automatically have one that's as fast or faster without even touching the HTT speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
wow they are really killing the phenom
I don't think they are. Phenom performs very well clock for clock, and scales better than C2Q when adding cores, and when increasing frequency.
The only think that's holding them back right now, is the frequencies they're running at.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
by that time you will wait a few more months an nahalem will be out
Nehalem is due in mid 2009. B3 stepping is due in about a month.
AMD has Bulldozer planned for 2009.

Quote:
they should have just released teh chips and doen a 9750 version and 9950 version like intel did with there e6000 series
Don't need to if you have unlocked multipliers.

Quote:
and there is no way you will 100% your cpu, that will cause the crash, i have yet to go over 50% on my c2q, alltho i do not fold.
I max out my CPU a lot of the time. But there's an easy way to make sure the TLB bug won't happen, without a BIOS fix.
* disable Cool'n'Quiet
* don't use any virtualisation programs.

just one will do.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 03:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD delays Phenom 9700 into Q2 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post

Nehalem is due in mid 2009. .
Nehalem is due in Q4 2008

Nehalem desktop for Q4 2008? - BeHardware

DailyTech - Intel Slates "Nehalem" for Q4 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Phenom performs very well clock for clock,
But around 10% less than the Kentsfield

Quote:
and scales better than C2Q when adding cores
But tell me how you will add cores ?

They will not make more than 4 cores for desktop, and it seems than Core 2 performs better with 4 cores

Quote:
and when increasing frequency.
I like to see a proof for that !

EDIT:
You need to check this
Phenom vs. Athlon Core Scaling Compared | Tom's Hardware

It seems that Phenom scales worse than its predecessor (Athlon64) in most cases
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 07:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD delays Phenom 9700 into Q2 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
O RLY?
Intel Nehalem mainstream CPUs to be released in Q2 2009
that's more recent.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
But around 10% less than the Kentsfield
when paired with DDR2-800 with pretty ordinary timings.
They perform very well when you put DDR2-1066 in with them, and with good timings. Then, you will see them pulling ahead in a lot of games.

Phenom at 2.6GHZ with DDR2-1066 gets 4300 CPU score in 3Dmark06, for example. Faster than a QX6800.

Quote:
But tell me how you will add cores ?
multi-chip socket F/F+ systems

Quote:
They will not make more than 4 cores for desktop, and it seems than Core 2 performs better with 4 cores
Doesn't scale as well when you increase frequencies.

Quote:
I like to see a proof for that !
Search Xtremesystems
Phenom offers more than 100% clockscaling?! - XtremeSystems Forums

Quote:
You need to check this
Phenom vs. Athlon Core Scaling Compared | Tom's Hardware

It seems that Phenom scales worse than its predecessor (Athlon64) in most cases
Great, let's test it in GAMES. Gee, that's a true test of frequency and core scaling!
and let's not give it DDR2-1066 RAM!
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 07:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD delays Phenom 9700 into Q2 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Read your own article

"Following the launch of the first Nehalem-based CPUs, the quad-core Bloomfield for high-end markets, in the fourth quarter this year, Intel is planning to launch a performance level Nehalem-based quad-core series, Lynnfield, before the second quarter of 2009, while dual-core Havendale CPUs will be launched in the second quarter of 2009 targeting markets from entry-level to mainstream, according to sources at motherboard makers"

High-end will come out on Q4 2008

The performance level will come before Q2 2009

The mainstream will come out on Q2 2009

You said mid 2009, and your own article proves that you are wrong


Quote:
when paired with DDR2-800 with pretty ordinary timings.
No

Please check this
Phenom 9700, AMD's 1st Quad-Core CPU | Tom's Hardware
They were you using DDR2-1066, and it performed 10% worse than C2Q (Kentsfield) at the same clock speed

Phenom 9700, AMD's 1st Quad-Core CPU | Tom's Hardware

Quote:
They perform very well when you put DDR2-1066 in with them, and with good timings. Then, you will see them pulling ahead in a lot of games.
Why you don't show us proof for your claims ?

Quote:
Phenom at 2.6GHZ with DDR2-1066 gets 4300 CPU score in 3Dmark06, for example. Faster than a QX6800.
Links ? proof ?

Having higher 3dmark score doesn't always mean that processor is faster is real world applications, anyway.


Quote:
multi-chip socket F/F+ systems
Is there a phenom processor that use socket F ?

As far as I know only AMD opteron use them and those are server processors


Are you kidding me ?

You didn't prove anything

It only scaled well in one application (cinebench) !!

Scaling well in one application doesn't mean that it will scale well in others

Quote:
Great, let's test it in GAMES. Gee, that's a true test of frequency and core scaling!
It scaled worse than Athlon64 in gaming

Here is an example



Athlon64 2.2GHz to 2.8GHz, there was %16.5 performance change.

Phenom 2.2GHz to 2.8GHz, there was only %12.7 performance change

And please before you reply to me, see this
Phenom vs. Athlon Core Scaling Compared | Tom's Hardware

They were using AMD 790FX motherboard, and they were using DDR2-800 with a good timing (4-4-4-12), yet Phenom scaled worse than Athlon64 with higher freq


Quote:
and let's not give it DDR2-1066 RAM!
Do you know that DDR2-1066 cost almost twice as much as DDR2-800 ?

Most people here buy DDR2-800
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 07:56 AM   #18 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD delays Phenom 9700 into Q2 2008

Chill, people. There is no reason to act like this.

AMD pushed the chips back. that is nothing new in the industry. The reason wasn't a problem with the chips, which is the main point.

Enough with the sniping. If it continues, this (and all other threads of the same ilk) will be close without warning.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 08:11 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD delays Phenom 9700 into Q2 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Read your own article

"The high-end quad-core Bloomfield Nehalem-based processors are slated for the fourth quarter of this year but for the performance level quad-core Lynnfield processors we'll have to wait until the second quarter of 2009.:

Nehalem will first come out on Q4 2008

However, the mainstream phenom will come on Q2 2009

You said mid 2009, which is neither Q4 2008 nor Q2 2009.
That's nice. But I really don't care.
Phenom performs better than you think it does, and I'm going to buy one. That's what matters to me.
Quote:
No

Please check this
Phenom 9700, AMD's 1st Quad-Core CPU | Tom's Hardware
They were you using DDR2-1066, and it performed 10% worse than C2Q (Kentsfield) at the same clock speed

Phenom 9700, AMD's 1st Quad-Core CPU | Tom's Hardware
That review, they didn't use an AM2+ board. regular AM2 does not support DDR2-1066. Only DDR2-800.

Quote:
Why you don't show us proof for your claims ?
I don't need to prove anything to you. Even if I do give you links, you're going to keep attacking the Phenom anyway.

I could give you examples. but really? I can't be bothered arguing with an intel fanboy.

Quote:
Links ? proof ?
See above.

Quote:
Having higher 3dmark score doesn't always mean that processor is faster is real world applications, anyway.
Oh, like Superpi? those kind of real-world applications?

Quote:
It only scaled well in one application (cinebench) !!
I only gave you one link.
Besides, I really can't be bothered arguing with you.

Quote:
From Athlon64 2.2GHz to 2.8GHz, there was %16.5 performance change.

From phenom 2.2GHz to 2.8GHz, there was only %12.7 performance change

And please before you reply to me, see this
Phenom vs. Athlon Core Scaling Compared | Tom's Hardware

They were using AMD 790FX motherboard, and they were using DDR2-800 with a good timing (4-4-4-12), yet Phenom scaled worse than Athlon64 with higher freq
Quote:
Do you know that DDR2-1066 cost almost twice as much as DDR2-800 ?
Depends where you look.
RAM is cheap anyway.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 08:31 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD delays Phenom 9700 into Q2 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
That's nice. But I really don't care.
Then don't post incorrect information

Nehalem will come much earlier than Mid 2009

Quote:
I don't need to prove anything to you. Even if I do give you links, you're going to keep attacking the Phenom anyway.

I could give you examples. but really? I can't be bothered arguing with an intel fanboy.
Quote:
See above.
Thats what people always say when they can't prove their points

You are saying that I'm intel fanboy as if you are not an AMD fanboy !!

Quote:
you're going to keep attacking the Phenom anyway.
And you were attacking Intel by posting incorrect information like "Nehalem will come out on Mid 2009" and "scales better than C2Q"


Quote:
Oh, like Superpi? those kind of real-world applications?
Did I say that Superpi is a kind of real-world application ? The answer is no


Quote:
I only gave you one link
So, you can post more links.

You only proved that phenom scales well only in cinebench !!

While Tom's Hardware benchmarks proves that phenom scales worse than Athlon64 with higher freq in most applications

Quote:
Besides, I really can't be bothered arguing with you.
No one is forcing you to argue with me. If you don't want to argue then don't.
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD "Spider" and the delay of Phenom 9700 Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-19-2007 05:22 AM
AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 123 11-12-2007 02:03 AM
AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-25-2007 05:33 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.