AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2008, 12:46 AM   #21 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Correction: 65nm Core 2 quad is faster in the majority of cases than 65nm Agena. Though clock for clock, it isn't generally a big difference.
ya not a big difference. I thought a 9950 was suppose to come out, oh well. I guess ill wait for the holidays n purchase my own 45nm Phenom!
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 06:38 AM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core

If you ask me, the good news here is to the mobile computing and entry level desktop market. I think a lot of manufacturers will be looking more and more to an AMD solution due to the advantage AMD will offer when it comes to their new integrated graphics model. Looks like AMD is marketing 780G as "Radeon HD 3200" integrated graphics.
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 11:34 PM   #23 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core

Triple core is just a way to sell defective quads. They could sell it as cheap as sempons even and still make more money than throwing em away.
Though its 3 cores for the price of 2, gonna grab the EE phenom x3 wen it comes out.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:14 AM   #24 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRDCorolla1 View Post
Why 3 cores?

Coming out with a triple-core processor makes sense for both the company and for consumers looking for multiple cores but holding off on making an investment in four cores -- especially when most software still isn't designed to take advantage of all those cores.
I fail to see how AMD think this.

Consumers either want dual core or quad core. Not in-betwen.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:38 AM   #25 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core

I dunno, Harper. the average consumer looks at the sticker price... "$xxx for a dual-core, $xxxx for a quad. Hmmm, this one has three cores and is $xxx, too." Cha-ching!

AMD is shooting for the mainstream average user with those chips, not the enthusiast.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 02:23 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core

From what I can tell so far, it's 4-cores with one core shut down right? As far as tri-core goes.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 04:56 PM   #27 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRDCorolla1 View Post
AMD's been dead in the water for a long time with all their delays and problems. It's exciting seeing that the spark is still there, hopefully fueling the competition even more. AMD is working on 45nm, but it would be wise that they perfect their 65nm technology first. Intel is already ahead on route with 45nm so there's still a lot of ground to cover for AMD.
they have already started to convert their fabs (at least the dresden fab) to 45nm, from what i have read.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:05 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
they have already started to convert their fabs (at least the dresden fab) to 45nm, from what i have read.
Dresden has already made working 45nm chips, which have been sent to testers.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:36 PM   #29 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
AMD is shooting for the mainstream average user with those chips, not the enthusiast.
The mainstream average user is normally asking INTEL INTEL INTEL.
You say the name AMD, and they are like "WHA....?" or "Who are they?"
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 01:58 PM   #30 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD Comes Out Swinging With 2 Quad Chips and a Triple-Core

Dell has turned on quite a few consumers to the AMD name, as has HP. The average user can't tell a difference in top speeds, but they can see the difference on the sticker price. After all, bottom dollar is bottom dollar, especially when the performance is basically the same.

My mom doesn't know the difference between Intel and AMD. She knows Intel makes computer ships, and has heard of AMD. Her old computer died (an Intel, but it was a mobo failure), and I have an old 2400+ box I was going to use for Linux. I told her I would fix it up for her, but it was an AMD. Her response was to ask if it worked, and said, "That's good enough for me." most consumers have the same atttitude... "If it works and gets the job done, it will do."

But, yeah... when I bought my first AMD box I hardly knew a thing about them. I have since learned the wisdom of taking the path less traveled.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Details Next-generation Platforms! Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-15-2007 03:35 PM
AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 123 11-12-2007 02:03 AM
AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-22-2007 12:25 AM
AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 90 09-17-2007 07:56 PM
45nm Core 2 Quad?? DX10 OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 22 06-21-2007 06:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.