AMD "Barton" processors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2003, 09:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Question AMD "Barton" processors

This is something that really baffled me:

I am using the AMD athlon XP 2500+ chip, and everywhere I find information on this processor, it says the XP 2500+ "barton".

Who or what in the heck is barton? Also, I noticed on all of my packaging, it never once says the word barton. Do they make a XP 2500+ Non barton series????

Just wondering.

Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247

I forget where the cutoff was i think the xp2200, but some were offered in thoroughbred or barton cores. The barton cores have more cache and more transistors. the core it self is shaped diff. the barton is more rectangle than the square thoroughbred core. I think the xp 2500 only comes in the barton core, i think.


i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 04:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

barton is the newer cores from AMD. like tech4hire says their is a cutoff point where some XP chips have barton or thouroubred cores or palamino core.

xp2500 only has one flavor i think which is barton. aside from core some XP chips also come in different bus speeds. for example i think xp2600 comes in 266Mhz and 333Mhz bus flavors.

the main difference between thouroughbred and barton is the CPU cache. the incresed memory is supposed to make it run better/ faster.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788

barton cores start on amd cpus at 2500+ and above
XT is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

A 2500+ based on the 266 MHz FSB could possibly exist theoretically, but I suppose that would put the multiplier in an awkward distance between two reasonable core frequencies (usually a multiple of 1/3 or 10).

The Barton has also 512 KB of level 2 cache (opposed to 256 on the TBred).
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.