amd athlon xp or Sempron - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2004, 01:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default amd athlon xp or Sempron

Hi I just recently moved and have become disconnected as far as computer hardware. I want to build my father in law a comptuer and was looking at Fry's, as they usually have good deals on processors. I am an AMD fan (bang for the buck), and I started seeing Sempron deals instead of Athlon XP ones. Can someone tell me if they are any good, and if it they are comparable to Athlon XP or are they more like Duron. Are sempron the next generation? I have two systems right now one based on XP 2500 barton and one XP 2800 barton, and I am very happy with them. Any advise is appreciated.
__________________

__________________
AMD XP 2500+ (barton)
2X512 DDR 400 kingston
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo
Chaintech Geforce 5200 128mb
160 Gb WD 7200RPM
80 Gb WD 7200RPM
NEC 2500 a
DVD ROM
sergiofar is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

yes, thy are like Durons. just take a look at there cache size. its prolly half that of the XP's.

if your father inlaw only usess the comp for web, word proccessing, basic stuff like that. he wont need a high end proccessor anyway.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 02:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I would highly recommend that you get an AMD Athlon XP processor. Mine, a 3000+, never gives me any problems.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 10:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default

Thx for the info, after reading a little on the subject and your input I think I will stick with XP.
__________________
AMD XP 2500+ (barton)
2X512 DDR 400 kingston
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo
Chaintech Geforce 5200 128mb
160 Gb WD 7200RPM
80 Gb WD 7200RPM
NEC 2500 a
DVD ROM
sergiofar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.