AMD Athlon XP 3000+ Barton or AMD Athlon 64 2800? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2005, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to quietb05
Default AMD Athlon XP 3000+ Barton or AMD Athlon 64 2800?

Im gonna be building a inexpensive PC soon and I was wondering which of these processors is better?
__________________

quietb05 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 02:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

64
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

AMD 64 all the way.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to quietb05
Default

any reason why?
quietb05 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

64-Bit will come into use when Longhorn comes out. The Barton core, while still good, will still be a 32-bit CPU withought he capability of 64-bit computing (which is the future). 64-Bit cpu's process data twice as fast as the 32-bits which will, in a long time...be phazed out.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Actually, no, 64 bit processes are not double the speed of 32 bit processes. 64 bit refers specifically to the number of registers the CPU can use to hold memory. 64 bit processors can basically address more memory than 32 bit processors, thus why you see such a large jump to 4GB. A quad socket Opteron board would be able to support 32GB I believe.

The 2800+ would be the faster solution due to the better memory bandwidth over the XP.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.