Amd athlon, sempron, pentium4 etc. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2006, 10:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
I wouldn't get the Sempron. They are pretty low performance compared to the Athlon chips. I'd say get either the Dual-core Athlon 3800+, or get the 3500+/3200+. The x2 3800+ is like 160$ now, marked down from 300$....real good buy.
not really. and I do own a Sempron (64)
the only difference is the amount of cache. and in gaming, most of the time it doesn't make much of a difference.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 06:59 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
not really. and I do own a Sempron (64)
the only difference is the amount of cache. and in gaming, most of the time it doesn't make much of a difference.

Well I got the amd athlon 64 3700 2.2ghz, and the cache for me makes a difference for gaming. I started out with a 128 cache celeron and to a 256 cache pentium 4, and now to a 1 mb cache athlon, I see alot of difference.
__________________

JamezKangster is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 09:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the difference is affected a lot more by the architecture.
the AMD K8 CPU's FPU (Floating Point Unit) is a lot better than the Pentium 4's one.

games generally use a lot more floating point instructions than most other programs.

basically, the K8 CPU's FPU will process floating point instructions in a lot fewer clock cycles

*edit*
games are not heavily affected by cache. though complex mathematics does benefit a lot more from cache.

so if the program you're using tends to use mathematical instructions (using the CPU's Arithmetic Logic Unit), the cache will make a bigger difference.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 11:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

celeron=scaled down version of pentium 4, less l2 cache
sempron=scaled down of athlon, less l2 cache
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 03:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by j369852147412
celeron=scaled down version of pentium 4, less l2 cache
sempron=scaled down of athlon, less l2 cache
the celeron is cut down on more than the cache. I can't remember exactly what else it's missing, but I think it might be some instruction sets that the Pentium 4 has.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.