AMD Athlon Processors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2005, 10:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Exclamation AMD Athlon Processors

Yeah I have a serious problem with AMD. Though their processors are far better than Intel, I can't tell what speed they are. Okay right now I have an Athlon XP 1800+ (upgrading to 64bit soon) and it says 1800mhz but it also says 1535mhz for frequency. Which one tells the actual speed? Intel always has both those numbers around the same. So do I have 1.5Ghz CPU or 1.8Ghz CPU?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg amd logo.jpg (18.8 KB, 41 views)

Zerohero2 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952

You have a 1.5GHz processor that can perform equal to a 1.8GHz Intel processor or better.

GHz don't mean as much with AMD, as they run much better than Intel, getting more done per clock cycle.

That's why AMD uses the numbers... 1800+ = 1.8GHZ+


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25

so if a game requires 1.8Ghz I can run it (with trouble but...)? Or is it stictly 1.53Ghz or below at a faster clock cycle?
Zerohero2 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

when they say it requires 1.8GHz they are basically referring to Intel he said, an 1800+ means that it is equivelant or better in some cases to a 1.8GHz based on that, one can assume that yes your processor will be fine.

AMD's do more instructions per cycle......this is why they are slower in the frequency but actually do just as much if not more than an Intel.

AMD named them 1800+, 2400+, 3200+ make it easier on people to let them know what it's equivelant to...3200+ is closely equivelant to 3200MHz or 3.2GHz

I don't see why a lot of people seem to have such a hard time understanding that.

Just realize when you're looking on the back of software or games, it's always in reference to an Intel since they are the more dominate company.

if it says you need a 2.4GHz CPU then an AMD 2400+ would do it
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 06:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25

thanks, I figured that that's what it ment but 2 figures get confusing. thanks a bunch guys!
Zerohero2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.