AMD Athlon 64 FX-53 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2004, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Thumbs up AMD Athlon 64 FX-53

AMD unveiled its new processor series.
AMD Athlon 64FX-53(3800+,3700+,3500+).
They are said to have inbuilt protection against viruses.
Any of U guys know more about them?
__________________

__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

I am not positive on this but it seems to be a feature for windows XP sp2. The whole idea is to have this built in protection to prevent from system failures.
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Weblets/0,,..._11105,00.html

This link should give a better explanation.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Well, they took ONE pin out of the socket for the FX series Now they support dual channel, unregistered memory aswell

And now the FX series and standard AMD64's will run on the same 939 socket...... The only difference between the FX series and standard AMD64's now will be that the FX series has a 1mb L2 cache....Both have onboard memory controllers....

Proof
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 12:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

There are really extremely good processor,
but the price also damn expensive.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 02:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

FX-53: extremely good processor, but not worth it unless you're Bill Gates

3400+: a lot less expensive, still performs really well, sometimes better than the FX-51 although not as good as the FX-53, a lot better for its money
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.