AMD Athlon 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2004, 07:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default AMD Athlon 64

Hi,
I have always been an intel person, would anyone care to explain how the Athlon 64 is soo fast if it is only at max a 2.2 GHz proc. I am curious to know.

Andrew Davis
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 07:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

For one thing it has a 1600 Mhz Front Side Bus compared to the 800 Mhz of a P4. It has more sockets (therefore it can transmit more data, in less time), it is 64 bit (will make a huge difference once the applications are released). And it has a much shorter pipeline than the P4. AMDs are also better at multitasking.

There are also many more advantages that I am unaware of, so I just listed what I know. I have always been an intel guy, but I decided to go with AMD for my next gaming system.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 09:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

For gaming, AMD got advantage cosz it got 3D instructions which Intel dont have.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

actually only fx series processors only have 1600 fsb
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 12:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

amd's are faster because they have a SHORTER Pipeline which also makes it run hotter but faster intels have LONGER pipelines which make them need a very high frequency for them to be fast thats why amd's have monikers to compare the speed with intel
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 12:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

so what is the fsb of the athlon 64 if it not 1600 MHz?
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 01:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

800 (stock)
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 06:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

800 Mhz fsb? that is not bad at all. So do you guys recommend that my next gaming pc is an AMD 64 over a pentium prescott?
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 09:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

IMO Yes
ag3 is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 11:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 57
Default

honestly, u really wont distinguish any diff between say a amd 64 3200+ or a intel p4 3.2ghz. Just pick what you want.
__________________

Cyph3R is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.