amd athlon 64 800mhz fsb in 1000mhz fsb motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default amd athlon 64 800mhz fsb in 1000mhz fsb motherboard?

I am building a computer for the first time, and I am on a rather tight budget. The motherboard that I have selected (asus a8n-e nforce4) says that it supports a 1000mhz processor. The processor that I have selected (amd athlon 64 3500+) has a 1000mhz fsb, but is a little high for my budget. I would like to lower my processor to a 3200+, but all I can find are 800mhz fsb processors. Can I put an 800mhz fsb processor in a 1000mhz fsb motherboard? Please tell me an answer.

Thank you,

angrykid
__________________

angrykid is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Yes, it should be no problem.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

thank you!!
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

FYI, you can always put lower clock parts in a mobo that supports higher, as long as they are the same socket...
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I dont think that 800FSB and 1000FSB come on the same socket using 64bit athlons.... i think the 800FSB (1600) and 1000FSB (2000) are both differnt the 1600 being socket 754 and the 2000 being socket 939, so i would say no that they are not going to work that way.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Charles_scott is correct, socket 754 carries the 800MHz "FSB" and socket 939 carries the 1000MHz "FSB". The 3200+ is availible for both sockets, so you'll be able to find one for the 1000MHz HTT no problem.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

really? I found a 3000+ with an 800mhz fsb for socket 939 on Newegg.
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

:-\
are you sure? please link us...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

okay:

http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16819103501
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I dont see where it states the HTT "FSB"
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.