amd athlon 2gig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2004, 06:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default amd athlon 2gig

just been given a 2gig amd athlon. at the mo i have a 500mhz amd athlon and i was wondering if i could just swap my old cpu for the new one on my motherboard and if i did would it work?
__________________

oasis91 is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

No, it would not work whatsoever. In order for it to work, you would have to get a new motherboard, then you would have to get new ram, then it would work. So at the minimum you would be spending around $100-$125.
__________________

__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

2ghz, so probably a 2800+ or so?
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no he obviously doesn't know anything about AMD processors so assume the obvious. he has an AMD Athlon XP 2000+ desktop processor. only an idiot would give away an xp2800 at this time, so it is not likely he has one. you need a motherboard which supports XP processors, thats it. you basically will end up building a new computer.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 09:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
no he obviously doesn't know anything about AMD processors so assume the obvious. he has an AMD Athlon XP 2000+ desktop processor.
That's exactly what I figured... =P
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 12:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Maybe if we knew what was going on then we could help, but either way an XP processor wont work with that motherboard.
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 05:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

well no actually i wudnt need to spend that much,....new motherboard around £35 and i already got 512 ram
oasis91 is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 05:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
no he obviously doesn't know anything about AMD processors so assume the obvious. he has an AMD Athlon XP 2000+ desktop processor. only an idiot would give away an xp2800 at this time, so it is not likely he has one. you need a motherboard which supports XP processors, thats it. you basically will end up building a new computer.

and no an idiot would not give it away, my mate gave it me cause hes just bought a new 3gig amd. are all yanks wankers like u?
oasis91 is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 07:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

first off oasis91 i am not a yank if that means yankee. i do not understand why you are getting hostile as i was not specifically calling you or your friend an idiot. i used the term "idiot" loosely. i was just saying it is very unlikely somebody with an xp2800 would give this to someone.

you also just proved my point that you know nothing about what you are talking about as there is no such thing as a "3gig" AMD processor. the most powerful AMD 64 CPU is only 2.4Ghz or "gigs" as you call it. oasis91 you should get a clue before you start lashing out at people.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 09:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by oasis91
and no an idiot would not give it away, my mate gave it me cause hes just bought a new 3gig amd. are all yanks wankers like u?
That wasn't a good thing to do newbie
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.