AMD 64 SLI mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2005, 09:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default AMD 64 SLI mobo

For a future upgrade, I'm thinking of an AMD 64 compatable mobo with SLI. Questions: Any good ones? Am I going to be able to use just one PCI-E card until I can get a 2nd? Thanks.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

DFI Lanparty nForce 4 Ultra SLI

http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16813136157

And yes, u can run 1 card on it.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

there's no point in running 2x6600gt's

just sell your current 6600gt and buy a 6800gt

and yes, when you're running one card, it will be @ x16, and when you run 2 cards, it's x8/x8
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 02:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

SLI = Bragging Rights to all the forum boys.
I've got two systems.
1.) IS ok. Intel 3.4GHz & X800XT PE
2.) FX-55 & (2)6800Ultras.

To tell you the truth, there isn't a huge noticable performance difference in newer games. (Noticable by the eye)

But, where you do see the difference is in the benchmarks.
Huge Difference.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 02:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea, i mean if my system get 75 fps and you get 250fps, there probably won't be a noticeable difference in game play
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 06:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

@HAVOC2k5 why have u got 2 such powerful systems?

@woot6600GT DFIs SLI board is the best out there really.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 06:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aj2003
@HAVOC2k5 why have u got 2 such powerful systems?

@woot6600GT DFIs SLI board is the best out there really.
1.) ever heard of a tax return?

2.) word.
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 07:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The best DFI out their is the DFI Lanparty Nforce4 SLI-DR

This runs 2 cards at 16x

And yeah, their is a point to running 2x 6600GT's, if you already got one why not get anotehr.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 12:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

DFI Lanparty Nforce4 SLI-DR

HANDS DOWN...
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 07:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Thanks for all the input everyone. I'm probly gonna get the mobo and the AMD 64 and run with my 6600gt until I get a 6800gt or ultra and run that until I get another 6800 gt or ultra and run both. Sound like a good idea?
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.