AMD 64 Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2005, 12:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default AMD 64 Questions

Would an 3200+ OC'd to run at 2.6ghz out perform a 4000+?

And are the new AMD 64 Venice Chips out yet?
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
tajahem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 410
Default

#2: They where supposed to be released monday, but I haven't seen anything on them.
__________________

tajahem is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

#1 yes, but a overclocked 4000 would beat them both.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 03:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Anyone know of any guides to OCing a 3200 far? Like what's the best heatsink and fan? Along with Antec silver5 how far can it be pushed? Etc.
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 03:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

dont know of any guides, but make sure ur agp/pci bus is locked in your bios. and move up your HHT slowely, a max of 5mhz at a time. the best 2 heatsinks at the moment are the thermalright xp120 or the zalman 7700Cu. depending if its a winchester or newcastle core they max out at around 2.8 and 2.7ish respectively. but i like mine abit safer and about 2.4 to 2.6 should be fine, but it varies from chip to chip, uve just gotta get lucky.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 05:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Well I want a CPU for major gaming and 2.7/2.8 sounds great, would that outperform a FX-55?

Aslong as it runs all games at an amazing level I'll be pleased.
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 05:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

FX-55 is one of the most if not the most powerful processors on the market. u wont be disappointed.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 05:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

This would pawn the FX-55. In every way imaginable ..
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 06:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Though I'm tempted by the FX-55 it nearly costs to the amout of the PC I've built (excluding monitor) and has been out for some time and will probably date.

Would an OC'd 3200+ winchester provide great gaming performance with 1gig RAM, EVGA 6800GT on an DFI nF4 SLI-DR Lan Party board?
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 06:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
This would pawn the FX-55. In every way imaginable ..
I skimmed through that quickly, and I think I caught that it uses an Opteron. The FX-55 will still be faster than even the most powerful Opteron in certain enviroments.

I think a 2.6GHz AMD would match a 4000+, you have to remember the 4000+ uses a larger L2 cache so even if the clock speed was a couple megahertz faster, the cache would compensate up to a certain point.

The Venice cores are coming out on Monday as mentioned above, they do use the same 90nm process of the Winchester but the strained silicon allows AMD to use cores with higher clock speeds now. I have noticed that the Venice maxes out around 2.8GHz, but that could just be because of the chip.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.