amd 64 questions? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2004, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Default amd 64 questions?

does the amd 64 2800=2.8 ghz? and if not then what does that number represent?
__________________

mAt!c-MaN is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

its a series code name. the 2800 is not 2.8 ghz, its much less. but amd cpus have higher cycles per minute, making thei cpus more powerfull. also, because of the 64bit, but there are no 64bit programs, and few os taht arre 64 bit
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Default

alrite so which 64 should i get?
mAt!c-MaN is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 178
Default

how much money you have to spend?
Shadow9684 is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

whats ur budget? amd has released 939 socket proc for most of there 64s. they have it is 3000,3200, 3500. dont get the 754 soct. it doesnt support dual channel, and now its same price as the 939s.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

2800+ means it is the quivalent to a P4 2.8GHz
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.