an AMD 64 Comparison - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 05:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

never used max before, but i'm pretty sure they would. older computers, (like even below 1GHZ) ran dual proccesor to render images because it would take waaay too long to render a long movie. It took 6 months to render Shreck, even with the best CPU's at that time.
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 07:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

aye aye, render times are a *****. Especially when you start working with really high quality lighting..... *Sigh*
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 07:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

yeah, when you turn up the reflections, shadows, refractions, and photon light, the it can take up to 2 minutes to render a 1024x768 image
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.