AMD 64 or 64-FX - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 08:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
and it is the ONLY 32-BIT WINDOWS COMPATIBLE CHIP THAT IS 64-BIT.
... Itanium 2's, Xeon's, and Opteron's do also.
__________________

Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 10:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default

hmmm they have a 64-bit xeon? (feling stupid now)
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I don't think they have a 64bit Xeon as of now. Maybe here fairly soon though.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default

well that makes me feel better. But why would you use an Opteron pocessor as a gaming cpu? thats what i was talking about.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

You wouldn't really see any performance increase... you could possibly see a decrease since it wasn't created for gaming but for a server environment. I think the only reason people use it as a gaming cpu is because they are rich, don't know much about computers (cpu's in general), and just generally think 2 cpu's will be better for gaming (most opteron mobo's support at least two chips).
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default

you have to be pretty dumb to use and Opteron CPU!!!!LOL But i would rather have to Xeon CPU's instead of two Opteron. HMMM dont know why though!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I think opterons are based off of duron chips if I'm not mistaken, making them not so exquisite after all.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default

Hmmm dont know about that, but we shouldnt jack the thread!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-16-2004, 03:37 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

opterons arent made off of durons, they are basically the same now as the 64/FX line... also the AMD processor is a real 64-bit processor... it uses 64-bit long GPRs(general prupose registers) which are still useable as 8/16/32 bit GPR's...

im not sure about intels 64bit extensions but the true performance increase gained from the GPR's in AMD's new processors isnt from just becoming 64-bit long mode capable but from the extension from 8 GPRs to 16 GPRs, hypertransport, and on-die memory controllers... so just the addition of this capability should show little to no advancement in performance...

as for opterons vs xeons.... the xeons were gods of server/workstation apps til hypertransport came along, it allows for lightning fast communication between multiple processors, along with the on-chip memory controller opterons of the same price range have been beating intels in nearly every category including traditional intel hotspots...

also in reference to AMD/intel sharing technology i think its not so much an agreement between them as the technologies being created as standards instead of patents... such as hypertransport....

hypertransport started as a consortium back in 1998, all protocols and designs for it were made into standards by that consortium and are free information to anyone, so intel could take this technology with no reprisal... not sure if everything the chipmakers do is like this but it could explain alot.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 10:29 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

bumping this so all my typing above wasn't for nothing
__________________

__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.