AMD 64 3000 clock question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2005, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default AMD 64 3000 clock question

Hi. My friend bought a new computer with AMD 3000 64 bit processor, 512 MB DDR 400Mhz.

I get into its BIOS setup screen, just to check what is going on there. So it reports that the CPU is currently set to the 200 MHz FSB, and memory as well, of course, and the total CPU core frequency is 1800 MHz.

There is an option to set the FSB clock to 400 Mhz. So I sure it will be usefull to do so, it will double the core clock, and I'm pretty sure it isn't an "overclock for such CPU to work in 3600 MHz frequency. But, if I If I change the FSB from 200 to 400 Mhz, "Spread Spectrum" option below this line became disabled.

Does anyone know what does the "Spread Spectrum" do, and is it worth to disable it and go to the 400 FSB and memory clock?

Comp specs:

-CPU: 3000 AMD K8 64BIT S939 512K
-Mother Board: GIGABYTE GA-K8NF-939 HyperTransport Technology \ AMD Atlon 64 FX \ PCI EXPRESS X16
2PCI EXPRESSx16 \ DUAL CHANNEL DDR \ USB 2.0 \ NVIDIA nForce4 4X \ 4xSerial ATA \ 3xPci
-Memory: MB DDR 400Mhz 512 2x256MB DDR 400MHZ
-Sound Blaster: Realtek ALC850 Audio AC97 Codec Audio 8-channel
-Ethernet 10/100Mb LAN CICADA8201 Gigabit LAN PHY chip
-Case: (USBx2 front) MIDI ATX P4 2-FAN 450W


smartech is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
KorKwin's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293

I think it's supposed to reduce interfearence (spelling?) with electronic devices such as pacemakers. Not totally sure though. And putting that to 400 is an overclock if it makes the clock speed 2.6ghz

It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 02:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

Spread Spectrum has to do with the electronic noise comming from your computer. There are ways to tell what a computer is computing just by using devices to listen to the electronic noise it produces. Setting the spread spectrum to, I'm not sure what the settings are, will add needless noise to the electonics so it is harder to determine what is going on. It is really only used by bankers and admins with extremely confidential data. Or data that could be used to amass large sums of money.

KorKwin: INTERFERENCE (You had it right, except the A)
Him is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Okay that fronside bus, yes doubbling it results in a doubble overclock

However if your doing this your retarded, and not going to have a computer most likely anymore. Do not change the FSB unless you are OC'ing and know what your doing.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 03:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech

My other friend's copm, which has AMD 2800+ CPU and it runs on 2000 MHz originaly, so I don't think that it can be trouble for AMD 3000 (but 64bit) CPU to run on 3600 MHz.
Maby anyone used this CPU by himself or had personall expirience with 64bit AMD's, please respond.
smartech is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 05:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
I Rule You
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory

Doubling the CPU clock speed is not good times. Its very, very bad times.

Unless you have serious cooling, don't even try that. And even if you do, doubling the RAM's speed will most likely kill it.
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 05:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

What your doing is called overclocking, read the sticky in the overclocking on overclcoking and you can give it a shot.

And newcastle 3000+ wont reach that high most likely, and neither will cheap ram. But if you got a whinchester or venice you should be able to go over 2.6, with a good mobo and ram.

Oh, and if you doubble the CPU speed by raising that number to 400, your only 400mhz away from the world record.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376

So should it be set as 200 mhz FSb?

CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 06:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 06:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626

lol, doubling the FSB... wow. havnt heard that in a while.
1st of all the AMD 2800+ ur friend has is a xp2800+, which does have stock speed of 2ghz. Ur comparing a XP to a AMD 64 939/754.. completely different man.
the a64 are more efficiant than the xp series.
Clock speed on ur cpu is 1.8, not 2 or 2.6
putting fsb at 400 will fry ur pc, so dont even think about it. U can oc it a bit, but watch out for ur temps.

My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.