AMD 64 2800 vs. XP 3000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default AMD 64 2800 vs. XP 3000

now guys... I'm finding myself needing a new computer before age of empires III comes out this holiday season. I've been digging and digging in this sort of info, and I found 2 deals that are rivaling for my cash. they are both comparable motherboards, but I'm not sure which processor I'd go with.

Here's some info. The 2800 64 bit one is a socket 754. It's running at $150 for the combo.

The Athlon XP 3000 mobo/processor combo is a socket 462 and is running $140.

Is the 64 bit really worth my extra 10 dollars, and by lowering down a few model numbers, am I sacrificing speed? I've read that the 64 bit ones are twice as fast, and I'm under the impression they just haven't had a chance to do thier thing yet, lacking a 64 bit OS. I'm very unsure of what to do here, and was wondering if some of you semi-pros can throw a suggestion out there.

Ryan
__________________

FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

The 64 bit is a whole new architecture, in a sense, yes it is a lot faster. You're better to go with 64 for gaming and to keep up with future games and applications, especially like Windows x64 edition.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The new Athlon 64's have proved themself better in gaming than their XP counterparts. It would be better to get a 2800+
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I would suggest looking to see how much more a socket 939 is. Also if you don't need a new computer until the holiday season just wait till then.

Where are you getting these from? I would suggest tigerdirect.com if you want a mobo/cpu combo and don't mind waiting on rebates. I got my xp2900 barton 512kb cache 400fsb and a motherboard for $90 after rebates
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

Go with the Athlon 64. The Athlon 64 is a much better gaming processor than the Athlon XP. However, like dario, I suggest you would go with a socket 939 Athlon 64 instead of Socket 754. Socket 939 will allow you greater future upgradability as AMD now intends to use Socket 754 for the Semprons (budget processor, sucks for gaming) and use Socket 939 for the Athlon 64s and Athlon FXs.
__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

sorry fellas. the nearest socket 939 to my budget is $190. and remember, I'm debating between $140 and $150. Ten bucks really means a lot to me. To answer the question about why I'm not waiting... It's summer, and a dent in my stash while I have income isn't near as bad when I'm sitting on my money and POOF, $200 gone. I also have to budget for ram, and that's what I'm doing with the extra money.

Another question. Socket 754 isn't crappy is it? Mainly the sempron. I realize the more pins, the more effiecient (potentially), but will I be able to tell a difference between a socket 754 2800 and a socket 939 2800?

I won't be upgrading for a while either. This computer's probably going to clear me out of college. (I'm an incoming freshman). Upgradability isn't too important as far as mobo/processor.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

AMD 64 3000 venice socket 939 on newegg is $146


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 01:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

no, no, no... I'm getting my mobo AND my processor for $150. They're the only missing pieces to my system and I can't choke up another 50 bucks for a mobo. I can get a 64 3000 mobo/cpu combo for 180. I'd do that if I had the cash, but I really don't. Thanks for your suggestions guys. What's the difference between all the different types of cores? I see none, whatsoever. The numbers seem to say it all unless I'm missing something.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

The cores normally run at different tempertures. I heard socket 754 doesn't work with dual channel though I would think it would. If you want this computer to last you through college (4 years I guess) you really want to get AMD64. I would really suggest trying to save up and get a socket 939 but if you can't get a 754 amd64.
Plus I wouldn't worry about 3000 compared to 2800 thats only 1/14 faster.
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
I heard socket 754 doesn't work with dual channel though I would think it would.
You heard correctly. No skt 754 can have it ram operating in dual channel. There is no excpetions. This is because the skt 754 cpu built in memory controler is single channel.
__________________

mgoldb2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.