AMD 64 2800+ vs XP 2600+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2004, 07:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default AMD 64 2800+ vs XP 2600+

I have an XP 2600+ and I need to know if a 2800+ would make a difference in speed? Because I want to get a GeForce 6800 GT but I think that my CPU might be a limiting factor on that particular card. So I need to know if a 64 2800+ will get that card running at its top speeds, and show me the speed I want. Im trying the get the best preformance I can so I can get Doom3.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

64 3000+ to 3200+ is preferable. Never rely on budget cpus for best performance.
__________________

WQ87 is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 07:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 104
Default

ANy 64bit proccesor is going to smoke ay xp proccesor and thats the facts sukas!
__________________
Super Lan Boy
AMD XP 2800 (Barton Core)
1024mb Kingston 3200 RAM
Gainward Ti 4800 128mb
120Gig HD 7200rpm SATA 150 8meg
40Gig HD 7200rpm ata 100 8meg Buff
Gigabyte K7 triton SE mobo
Black Lights with green cables
Windows Xp Home
52X24X52 CD/RW
DVD Player
450 watt psu
BIG_AIZZLE is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 07:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

The difference between a 64 3000+ and 64 3200+ is minimal right? Because with the GT card were talking in upwards of $700 just to make those changes.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 07:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Personally I would go with the AMD64 3000+. You are correct, there is very little difference between the 3000+ and the 3200+. If you really want that extra 200mhz you can always overclock the 3000+, but its not really worth the extra heat. Save the 50 dollars and get the 3000.
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 07:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

ya get a 3000+, unless wats ur current gfx card? a 6800 will work perfect with a 2600+ tho.. but i say it depends on ur gfx card now. if it really sux, i would get the 6800, if its nice, get the new proc. look at my specs, i can doom 3 on high at 1024x768 at 40 fps (some tweaks tho) hehe without tweaks, i run med 1024 40 fps or high 800x600
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

umm i'm noob... what is diff between the athlon xp and athlon 64? I have a athlon 2400... how do I know which one I have and which is the better one? Which generates less heat? I'm taking a guess that heat percipitation is the difference here?
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 08:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

the athlon 64 is a 64 bit preccessor. It can process twice as much as info as the 32 can in the same amount of time. making it a better proc. ur 2400+ is an xp, a 32 bit processor. The 64 runs hotter than xps (corerct me if im wrong)
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 09:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Quote:
ya get a 3000+, unless wats ur current gfx card? a 6800 will work perfect with a 2600+ tho.. but i say it depends on ur gfx card now. if it really sux, i would get the 6800, if its nice, get the new proc. look at my specs, i can doom 3 on high at 1024x768 at 40 fps (some tweaks tho) hehe without tweaks, i run med 1024 40 fps or high 800x600
I have a MSI GeForce FX 5600 128 Mb. I could do either of these get a 64 3000+ and a GeForce FX 5700 Ultra (eVGA of course) and use their Step-Up to get the GT at a later time. Or I could Get the 6800 GT, and then I would have to wait on the new CPU. Ive only got a round $500 or so to spend right now.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 10:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ok so how big of a bottleneck are we talking about here if you had say an overclocked 35w 2400+ XP-M with a geforce 6800? You guys are basically making it sound like you HAVE to have the 64 otherwise the 6800 isn't worth it or something
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.