Amatuer Techie Needs Help ASAP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2004, 03:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
Unhappy Amatuer Techie Needs Help ASAP

OK, my computer is a home made franken-box. I have a fairly advanced knowledge of computers, seeing as I built this one, but I can't figure this one out no matter how hard I try:

My 3.5" floppy drive does not work. The "busy" light is constantly on. I replaced the drive with no results. I also checked my BIOS and it is registered in the BIOS as a 3.5" 1.44mb floppy drive. If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate it alot.

Also, I have a bad cable on my monitor. I don't want to replace the monitor, as it has great color definition and resolution and is fairly new. Is there any way I can replace the cable myself, as paying someone to do it would only be a few dollars less than buying a brand new monitor. The monitor is a Samtron 77V.
__________________

StantonDowd is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 02:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default

You have the floppy cable inserted wrong, Reverse it.
__________________

-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 02:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

As for your monitor cable, if you don't know how to splice wires or replace the connector if it is broken, bring it to a local electronic shop (not computer) they will repair it for a few bucks.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 01:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 124
Default

If you built the computer yourself then you probably didnt reverse the cable wrong. Try resting the cmos bios on your board. .... I decided there nothing that i need the floopy for so i didnt put one in.
antirem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.