AM2 Preview - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 11:42 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

The only real advantages of Socket AM2 now seem to be:

- future proof for future CPU's that hopefully will perform better
- DDR2, if and when it outperforms DDR by a large enough margin to make DDR2 worth buying
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 11:46 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Why even go DDR2 when you can wait it out and go DDR3?
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 11:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

Seriously, all these cores are giving me a headache. Make one, make it own, we will all be happy.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:01 AM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Problem is that the other company end up making a processor that owns the first processor.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:17 AM   #25 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

DDR2 might be better if they could just get those **** timings down.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:37 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

AMD needs to bring out there a game here...if they can make a 2.2 own the crap out a 3.0 intel...then why don't they just start making 3GHz cpus? Intel is pretty much calling their bluff here. I'd say bite back...HARD. Launch the best that you got way ahead of sched from AMD and **** all over intel. If they don't, amd is in trouble....big trouble
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:41 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the reason AMD didn't make DDR2 support before was cost. and now that DDR2 is getting less expensive, they're starting the switch now.

once the final release of AM2, the CPU's should have their bugs ironed out and probabbly be faster than current CPU's, although like idiotec said, the performance gain won't be much. at least not at first anyway.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:41 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Well hopefully AMD will make use of that cache techonlogy they liscensed. I forgot the details, but I know it increased the cache by 4 or something...
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:42 AM   #29 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
Make one, make it own, we will all be happy.
That's just what AMD is going to do. One socket, period.

Quote:
the reason AMD didn't make DDR2 support before was cost. and now that DDR2 is getting less expensive, they're starting the switch now.
Exactly. AMD let Intel bite the big one and absorb the slackness of changing technologies.

Now that DDR2 is becoming mainstream, the time is right. That, and DDR2 800 will be hitting the scene about the same time as AM2...

Quote:
once the final release of AM2, the CPU's should have their bugs ironed out and probabbly be faster than current CPU's, although like idiotec said, the performance gain won't be much. at least not at first anyway.
Everyone seems to be forgetting that the benchies were ran on a preproduction CPU and with RAM that has very loose timings. Give it time, and AMD will deliver the goods.

The main performance gain will be in a unified front for CPU sales. One socket, from custom mega-gamers to bargain-basement pre-builts.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 04:34 AM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

wow.......theres just way too much speculation in here. People dismissing these benches like nothing as if those are the final set in stone product abilities.

God knows how many little issues there are that needs to be worked out in combination with the fact they didn't have the DDR2-800 like they said would really be needed.

It was a super early pre-production CPU, combine that with it being THG and I wouldn't even begin to make any sort of speculation.

On a side note however, I have not been following Intels plans at all, so I really can't comment on conroe or dothan or any of those other things I'll honestly tell ya, I know nothing about

I liked this line in the article:

Quote:
Today, the Athlon 64 processor family is widely considered superior, which puts AMD into a role as leader rather than as a struggling competitor.
yeah!

New mounting does suck though......I wouldn't be able to put my water block on there without rigging up something that'll fit in the 4 holes on the motherboard and then fit into the two holes on the block. Perhaps dangerden will start selling tops for approx $15 to remedy that though.

I don't plan on upgrading until around close to 2008 though. I'm sure AMD will have yet another socket out and maybe DDR3 support by then or something. All I know is one thing is for sure, I'm going dual core. These days I'm not gaming like I used to, so I'd rather get the multi cores going for the various programs I run
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.