Am I screwed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2005, 01:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Default Am I screwed?

Okies, I got a prefab destop because we were really in need and it was a reasonable price. Aw heck, what am I saying, we're cheap. Anyway, it's a compaq p.o.s. and the hard drive crashed yesterday. Goodnews badnews time.

Good news: I had all the important stuff (Music, games, all my downloads...oh yea, some pictures too ) on a seperate 200gb hd in 2 diff 100mb partitions. I put the damn system disk that I HAD TO MAKE in and it reformatted the user partition on the 80 gig hd. Now, it thinks that there's 1 partition, and since it's bigger than 137 it dosn't see it. I need to get the junk on that hd. I screwed?

Illidan is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260

I'm trying to make sense of this.....

You have two harddrives
1 - 80gb... the one that crashed, windows was on this drive and not partitioned
2 - 200GB... fine and partitioned into 2 100gb logical drives

You reinstalled windows on the 80gb drive and now it doesn't see the two 100gb partitions on the 200gb drive... am I correct?

Edit: Also, which version of windows are you running?

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611

clear up what you're saying...If it only sees one partition, try the external hard drive on someone else's comp. Then if someone else's comp sees it at least you know it's not the external hard drive's fault.
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 168

Apply SP2 to your XP isntallation and it will see all of the 200gb drive. XP had a 137gb limit. Don't touch the 200gb drive until you update your system disk. Then you'll be fine.
gsbtech is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2

Ok, sorry bout all that
HP does this thing with it's hard drives, 2 partitions, 1 'user partition' and the other, a recovery partition. The user partition crashed and the recovery partition initiated the recovery consol which required the system dvd I had to make (didn't come with one ¬__¬)
and yes jinexile, I have 2 internal hard drives
Illidan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.