Always Crashing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2005, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default Always Crashing

Can anyone help here ?

My PC has started to crash at the slightest event. I seldom get the BSD , but when i do it says the usual - 'IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL' or i will get 'PFN_LIST_CORRUPT'

But most times the PC just switches itself off and restarts.

When it does restart i get the error message from Microsoft that it was 'Error Caused By graphics Device Driver' or 'Error caused by Device Driver'

I have changed the graphics card & drivers god knows how many times.

I have run a RAM test and i often get it showing errors in MATS or WMATS, i have changed the memory with a PC at work which uses the same kind, but i still show as having errors.

Could i have a faulty motherboard or are the settings wrong, or could my PSU be gassed ?

Are there any other tests that i can run to test these components?

Any help would be much appreciated.
Copper
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 08:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Damn, thats a dilly of a pickle. Do you have onboard graphics? If you do, try that. If you dont, have you trid to reinstall Windows? That may or may not work. Also, try rolling back to sp1. If none of that works, I would say that your mobo is faklempt.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 08:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

before this ATi, have you used a nvidia card on this comp?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Question

Hi

Thanks for the replies DiabloII & Him

I have tried the onboard graphics and an old Nvidia card as well.

I have also tried reinstalling XP Home edition with SP1 and then with SP2 and the same with XP Pro first with SP1 then with SP2, but I get the same problem.

I have tried flashing the BIOS as well, but the system is still pretty unstable.

It will even shut down while booting up, and will only start up if I switch it off at the mains for a minute or two then reboot.

This is pretty random, the PC may work for an a few hours doing same pretty heavy work, then on another day it may just crash or switch off just doing the lightest of tasks.

Annoying
__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 08:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

There may be somethign wrong with your MoBo than. First troubleshoot all of your components. Take them out one by one and replace it with a different one and seee if your computer still crashes. Try swapping the hard drive, that may or may not work. Make sure you test everything, your mobo is the last component you will want to replace. Before the processor, anyway.

I think it is your mobo, but I could be wrong.
Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Default

What kind of power supply do you have? I have the same problem pretty much and I get the same error message from windows, the only difference is that my PC only reboots when I'm doing something graphics intensive, it's very rare for it to reboot otherwise. I have a 9800 from ATI, I called them several times and worked with them trying to troubleshoot the problem but they eventually ran out of ideas. They didn't think it was the card's fault but they were willing to exchange my old one for a newer one. Anyways, some people on the board pointed out to me that I was probably in need of a new PSU, maybe you should try the same thing. I'm going to be getting my new PSU sometime within the next two days, so I'll post the results if you haven't decided to change your PSU already.
Bryan is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default

Hi again.

I do have two Hard drives, so i installed XP on the other hard drive, but still the same problem.

Is there a way of testing the processor ?

I think i have narrowed it down to Motherboard / Processor / Power supply.

__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Default

See how your system runs with another, better Power Supply. You probably don't want to rush in an start messing around with your Motherboard or CPU until you're absolutely sure it's not your Power Supply.

Check your +12V, +5V and +3.3V if you can with MotherBoard Monitor or something. Just make sure you check the Power Supply first 'cause that's definitely a lot easier to change than the other two.
Bryan is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Thats a good call, I always seem to neglect the PSU. It's a bigger cause of problems than most people realize.

Unplug things you dont need. One of the HDD's, any extra fans you have running, even your floppy and CD rom. Lower your voltage drain, and see if that works. Or simply try a different PSU, like has been siad.
Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I got that everynow and then, dont remember what fixed it, but it wasnt hardware related.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.