All these new things getting me confused - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2006, 01:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Question All these new things getting me confused

Okay.... so i kno that there are a lot of new things coming out this year, i just wanted to stay updated and want to make sure i know what each one does.

soo ill start off with:

Windows Vista: it's a new windows basically, better things blah blah blah but what does it need to run Vista? just a direct x 10 card? no AM2 and all that? with all the new features turned on..

AM2: its a new socket, one step ahead of socket 939? and that means new CPUS will be releasing, also boards with AM2 will now support DDR2 ram??

alright thats all i wanted to know. thanks.
__________________

__________________
NZXT Tempest
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
EVGA 9800GT
Corsair Dominator 4GB
Ultra LSP 750W
123Justin is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

vista will not require a dx10 card. how could they design it for something that has not been invented yet. the vista betas run on dx10 cards.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Yeah you do not need a DX10 card for Vista. But its better to have one to take advantage of all the features. You're right about AM2, except from what ive seen of the new AM2 proccessors, they are not any better than the current 939 equivalents.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 09:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

alright. i don't think im going to change to DDR2 and AM2 in a while... im going to stay with socket 939 for a long time cause i think it still has a LOT of life left in it, considering some people still have socket 754...
__________________
NZXT Tempest
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
EVGA 9800GT
Corsair Dominator 4GB
Ultra LSP 750W
123Justin is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Quote:
considering some people still have socket 754...
754????

Try socket A, bub.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.