All in one touch pc connecting to hdtv? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2016, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigdog33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 184
Default All in one touch pc connecting to hdtv?

Hi I was wondering if anybody on here had experiences with USB to HDMI? My all in one doesn't have hdmi, vga, etc.... only USB. Is it any good or will have problems?
__________________

bigdog33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: All in one touch pc connecting to hdtv?

Depends on what you're planning on doing really. Might be a bit iffy for games and such, but videos/normal use should be fine.

Are you sure your AIO doesn't have any extra outputs? Not even DisplayPort or mini/micro HDMI/DP?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 12:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigdog33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 184
Default Re: All in one touch pc connecting to hdtv?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Depends on what you're planning on doing really. Might be a bit iffy for games and such, but videos/normal use should be fine.

Are you sure your AIO doesn't have any extra outputs? Not even DisplayPort or mini/micro HDMI/DP?
It would be used for movies *kodi* or would usb to vga be better? And yes I'm sure It's Dell Inspiron one 2205
bigdog33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: All in one touch pc connecting to hdtv?

USB->HDMI would probably be preferable.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 02:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 632
Default Re: All in one touch pc connecting to hdtv?

What OS is your PC running? It might support MiraCast and if your TV is new enough it might as well. Mircast will let you connect the 2 devices wirelessly.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...creen-miracast
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 02:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigdog33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 184
Default Re: All in one touch pc connecting to hdtv?

Quote:
Originally Posted by strollin View Post
What OS is your PC running? It might support MiraCast and if your TV is new enough it might as well. Mircast will let you connect the 2 devices wirelessly.

Project to a wireless display with Miracast - Windows Help
It was windows 7 but upgraded to windows 10 and my smart tv is about 4 or 5 years old.

After looking around... both of them doesn't have miracast.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
USB->HDMI would probably be preferable.
Ok thanks!
__________________

bigdog33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any way to have 3D without buying an expensive new HDTV? (PC to 1.3 HDMI HDTV) Sythierius Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-02-2010 03:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.