All games freezing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2003, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
Talking All games freezing (solved)

I have just built a pc here are the important specs:

2400xp Athlon xp
Abit NF7V2.0
20 gig hard drive
256 megs of ram
Geforce 4 ti 4200 64 meg
Os: Windows xp with service pack 1

When I first installed windows everything appeared fine, the system was fast and stable and I tested a couple of new games on it.

The problem starts after around 30-50 minutes of playing on a game. But I can easily end the task and win xp runs stable. I first thought it may be cooling I checked the temps and the cpu was running at a cool 45 degrees. All games from shoguns basic graphics to the newish splinter cell freeze or even restart the pc.

I have reinstalled graphics/nforce drivers, direct x, updated the bios and checked all the cmos settings made sure the processor is set at 2400.

Can anyone help me out? Its def not a cooling prob.
__________________

Jared_e is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 12:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

no its not a cooling problem....r u using original games or pirate?
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

do you have a fan on your grapics card.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 01:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
Default

They are all orginal games aswell as demos. And yes the inno3d graphics card has a fan.
Jared_e is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 02:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
Default

I thought it may be the power supply, but I dont believe that would leave the os running stable, if it had problems.

The games either freeze and require me to end the task, quit straight to the desktop or restart the computer.

I have searched around on the internet and have found that my motherboard is abits 'quirkiest' motherboard

Can anyone help?
Jared_e is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
Default

My psu is 300 watts and the ram is a TwinMOS PC3200 256MB.

My board is the NF7 Version 2.0, exactly where and by how much should I up the voltages in the bios?

Thanks for the help
Jared_e is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

i had that prob with my nforce board and mine turned out to be ram; download this program http://www.memtest86.com/ on another pc and burn the iso image to a cd. Then use that cd to boot the pc and it will test the ram.....i ran it with my old ram and was popping errors left and right .....with my new corsair ram im having no issues......it wil run 7 tests 7 times but i let it run the 7 tests 1 time and it worked fine for corsair ram.....if you get errors your having a ram issue
__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 10-25-2003, 08:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
Default

I think upping the voltages did the trick

Thanks MicroBell! aswell as everyone else for trying to help me out.
Jared_e is offline  
Old 10-25-2003, 12:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

well i will admit microbell is the MAN
__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 10-25-2003, 07:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

i am the Microbell fan boy
__________________

__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.