Alienware or Voodoo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2003, 01:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2
Default Alienware or Voodoo?

Hey guys,

Im buying a laptop and I dont know if i should buy from alienware or voodoo. Which would you reccomend and why?

Thanks
__________________

UNGER is offline  
Old 06-03-2003, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

i like alienware's area 51m...ive seen reviews and comparisons of both voodoo and alienware....seems to me that you'd get value for your bucks if your going with alienware. in my opinion anyways.
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 06-03-2003, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 154
Send a message via Yahoo to daveppeters
Default

Alienware just sounds more exotic than a VooDoo PC. I have heard that Alienware are the best if you want a power laptop. Don't expect long battery life, though!!
__________________
IWill XP-333 / 384MB PC2100 DDR / AMD T-Bird 1.33GHz (o/c to 1.40 until I get a better CPU cooler!) / VisionTek GeForce4 MX440 / SB Live! X-Gamer 5.1 / Maxtor 20GB 7200 RPM HD / Toshiba 8X DVD / Sanyo 40/12/40X CD-RW / Win XP Home

http://www.statgfx.com/statgfx/foldi..._original&.jpg
daveppeters is offline  
Old 06-03-2003, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 604
Default

Yeah if you are on a budget, or at least want more for your money, Alienware is the way to go...
__________________
Search TF <b>before</b> posting!<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
randy is offline  
Old 06-04-2003, 11:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 118
Send a message via ICQ to gemiller Send a message via AIM to gemiller
Default

Yes but alienware does have a downfall, they seperate the harddrive into two partitions, and have a ton of useless junk for alienware troubleshooting running in the other partition, a ton of wasted memory, and it slows the computer down. But If you do something about that its a great computer.
__________________
====|::::::::::::::::::::::::>
\"If you don\'t know where you are going any road will take you there.\"
gemiller is offline  
Old 06-04-2003, 02:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

hmmm......regarding partitions....you can have it repartitioned, right? I'm not really a laptop fan...but i think you can repartition the notebook's hd. unless you don't want to go thru the entire process of formatting and reinstalling software.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 02:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

partitioning a HD is the same on all PC's except for the HDD type, but it is possible
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 04:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

reviving old threads ey. i think i got that figured out a long time ago.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 04:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

I would say, unless you ABSOLUTELY have to have a laptop PC.. Don't get a laptop. If you're gonna spend the cash.. Get a standard PC and trick it out..

Alexander
__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 08-20-2003, 03:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

i agree, desktop PC's have a much better performance

1. Laptops have to be crammed into one "block" causing them to generate a lot more heat, and lose performance

2. Laptops have to worry about Battery Power; the CPU of a laptop is designed to save battery power by running just a bit slower

3. you can upgrade a Desktop PC so much better

4. the size of the parts is not restricted very much on Desktop PC's so performance and size of memory on Video, sound cards and HDD's can be of a lot bigger capacity
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

« Tv oUt | thx »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.