From ALIENWARE back to DELL -- but look at what I get! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2005, 10:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Workstation not gaming PC
lol you beat me to it chris. But you never know you might need duel video cards to run power point :P
__________________

ki9090 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 11:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ki9090
lol you beat me to it chris. But you never know you might need duel video cards to run power point :P
And both of you beat ME to it. lol

Yeah definitely powerpoint! lol
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 01:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

2gb for work thats just not needed, my opinion and 300 gb thats cray too, well for me but if u tell me a reason why u need that much thats good its ur comp neway
__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 01:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

just cuz its good for gaming doesnt mean it wont be good for anything else plus even then that computer has the power to do anything and if you even want to use it fo anything else itll do it for you too i mean dudes that is the best and dual vid cards take some load off the cpu when running graphics intensive programs i.e. video editing so hey dont criticize it just cuz itll dominate in gamin
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 02:08 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

a workstation card serves a different purpose than a gaming gfx card

Quote:
2gb for work thats just not needed, my opinion and 300 gb thats cray too, well for me but if u tell me a reason why u need that much thats good its ur comp neway
do you run a business?

thought so.
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 02:49 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

arent dual processors meant for like servers... if i were you id stick with what you had.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 04:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 29
Default

VIII,

You mean to tell me that system I configured
won't kick ***?!

It's for a business. The 2GB ram assures I can
run a boatload of startup programs, multi-task
and burn a DVD all at the same time.

Mr. Peabody...thanks. You took a great deal
of time to price out a system for me. I am
really taken back by your generosity.

Actually, have a friend that deals with DELL
for his business. They priced my original
configuration at $3200 SHIPPED. This includes
the 300 GB SCSI drive.

Only another $849 for the 24" monitor (usually
$1200) since it is part of the package deal.

How can I beat that?!

Thus far I have decided to go with Dell. Hope
they take care to make sure the system cools
properly.

Also...any major difference between dual 3.2 -> 3.6 GHZ
on the CPU?
NJRonbo is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 04:37 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

no, thats not what im saying. but i would personally go with the Alienware
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 05:13 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea; alienware's build quality and products used are 100000x better than dell's skimpy products that barely meets the pre-requisite and poor build quality (i read on a newspaper once that they make over 6 figures of computers a day over like 6 factories)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 06:18 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

If u want to go with dell, thats ur choice. i know ur thinking in terms of money. but think quality. dell wont give u that. alienware will, even if they charge more for it. i guarantee u that u will become pissed with dell running that thing. maybe not at 1st, but eventually.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.