AIM Won't connect b/c of norton firewall..help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2005, 12:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default AIM Won't connect b/c of norton firewall..help!

AOL Instant messanger always works..i was experiencing some problems with reading my gmail emails earlier today. I disabled the firewall,restarted the browser,and turned the firewall back on.Everything was now working properly with my gmail.
Now AIM says that the service cant be reached. When I disable the firewall, it works properly. If i disable it while i'm connected it disconnects me. I have Norton Firewall ..please help me
__________________

ukballer is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Why don't you just turn off the Norton Firewall then, if you want to get on AIM so bad..
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 12:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default why?

Why would I do that ? It has worked the past 2years with the firewall enabled. I'm not going to disable it. I think the firewall is blocking the port of something. How can I fix all this?
ukballer is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

How do you know, norton is blocking it??? How can it suddently block it then if you've had it for the past 2 years?? Check your security level. Or go into the taskbar icon, internet applications and make sure aim is at allow full access. You do know that aim is a security risk right?
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 12:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default sorry

sorry for posting all those new threads..im new..i dont understand what you are saying about the taskbar and stuff..i went to the setup icon in aim and it told me what port it used. the port is not in the firewall allowd port..should i put it in?
ukballer is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

By all means. But first go to options, internte applications and makes sure aim is allowed full access. If its not there, then add the port.
Rogeer
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 09:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

i used to use norton but it takes up so much CPU time, so i switched to zonealarm for my firewall and AVG for my anti virus if you have problems just use zonealarm or sygate and disable your norton firewall.
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 10:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

there should be a setting in the firewall program that enables you to let instant messaging programs bypass the firewall, Zone Alarm Pro has this setting, if there is no setting try searching on google for a patch that makes Norton firewall allow AIM's connection request.
__________________

Amd64Boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.